Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Graff, Lisa (Lisa Colleen)

Summary: "As Trent Zimmerman struggles to move past a traumatic event that took place several months earlier, he befriends class outcast Fallon Little, who helps him understand that he can move on"--

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Listening Library 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD GRA

Stewart, Erin

Summary: One year after the fire that claimed her parents' and cousin's lives and left her severely disfigured, sixteen-year-old Ava faces the return to high school.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Boorman, Kate A

Summary: Told in separate voices, Jory, whose face is partly paralyzed, and his sister Liv, a former reality television performer and child beauty pageant contestant, join forces to search for their missing parents.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Henry Holt and Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC BOO

Graff, Lisa (Lisa Colleen)

Summary: "As Trent Zimmerman struggles to move past a traumatic event that took place several months earlier, he befriends class outcast Fallon Little, who helps him understand that he can move on"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Philomel Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC GRA

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JFIC GRA

Kirby, Matthew J.

Summary: In 1888 seventeen-year-old Evelyn Fallow, herself disfigured by the phosphorus in the match factory where she worked, has been hired as a maid to Joseph Merrick, the Elephant Man--but when the Jack the Ripper murders begin she and Merrick find themselveshaunted by the ghosts of the slain women, and Evelyn is caught up in the mystery of Jack's identity.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC KIR

Hunt, Angela Elwell

Summary: Orphaned and severely deformed, Sarah Sims, who has been kept hidden away in a secret CIA facility, gets a chance to make a new life for herself when a miraculous operation transforms her into an independent beauty and brings about an unexpected ally.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: MIRA 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC HUN

Lambert, Charles

Summary: "For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor--and the startling revelations their behavior evokes. In a sprawling estate, willfully secluded, lives Morgan Fletcher, the disfigured heir to a fortune...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LAM

Venturini, Fred

Summary: "Teenage burn survivor Wilder Tate faces the challenges of high school but in the aftermath of tragedy he discovers the capacity to forgive and empathize-- learning the importance of healing from the inside out"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Turner Publishing Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA FIC VEN

Leech, Caroline

Summary: On her father's farm in Scotland in 1945, Lorna Anderson's life consists of endless chores, rationing, knitting Red Cross scarves, and praying for an Allied victory. So when Paul Vogel, a German prisoner of war, is assigned as the new farmhand, Laura is appalled. How can she possibly work alongside the enemy when her own brothers are risking their lives for their country? But as Lorna...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC LEE

McStay, Moriah.

Summary: In alternating voices, Fiona "Fi" Doyle experiences her teen years in two ways, with and without a disfiguring accident that occurred at age six, dealing with its effects on her brother and parents, her friendships, her dating life, her involvement in sports and hobbies, her future plans, and especially her self-image.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Children's Books 2015

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: Y FICTION MCS

Palahniuk, Chuck.

Summary: "Palahniuk's fashion-model protagonist has it all, boyfriend, career, loyal best friend-- until an accident destroys her face, her ability to speak, and her self-esteem. Enter Brandy Alexander, Queen Supreme, one operation away from becoming a bona-fide woman. Laced in are new chapters of memoir and further scenes with the book 's characters."--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W. W. Norton 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PAL

Fusco, Kimberly Newton.

Summary: In 1942, when life turns sour at the carnival that has always been her home, eleven-year-old Bee takes her dog, Peabody, and piglet, Cordelia, and sets out to find a real home, aided by two women only Bee and her pets can see.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC FUS

Higson, Charles

Summary: Ella is out in the country, alone now except for her silent rescuer, Scarface, about whom she knows nothing, while Ed leaves London on a dangerous quest, determined to find Ella and keep his promise to Small Sam that he will reunite sister and brother.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hyperion 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC HIG

Hepler, Heather

Summary: Fifteen-year-old Mia's scarred face is a constant reminder of the car crash that killed her sister, but a summer at her grandmother's Manhattan apartment and new friends help her find happiness again.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Blink 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC HEP

Brand, Max

Summary: "Beaten and disfigured by Jack Rutledge, Winsor Glanvil recovers in the mountain den of a she-wolf and her cub. When spring comes, he leaves the den to exact revenge on Rutledge, accompanied by the wolves he has befriended"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC BRA

Robards, Karen.

Summary: As a woman cleans a funeral home, a corpse leaps off the embalming table. So begins a horror romance featuring Summer McAfee, who runs her own janitorial business. The corpse turns out to be Steve Calhoun, a detective on the run from crooked cops and drug dealers, so badly beaten he resembles a monster. Scalpel in hand, he threatens to cut Summer's throat, ties her with her bra and abducts her....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 1995

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ROB

Johnson, Hal

Summary: Horribly disfigured thirteen-year-old Myron Horowitz discovers that he is the first immortal lycanthrope, a were-mammal, born since time began, that can switch from a human to an animal.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Clarion Books 2012

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC JOH

Abbott, Tony.

Summary: A middle school boy's life is changed when Jessica, a girl disfigured by burns, starts attending his Catholic school while receiving treatment at a local hospital.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC ABB

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J FICTION Abbott