Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Arrow, Emily

Summary: "Beloved children's entertainer Emily Arrow's first picture book, perfect for (little) makers everywhere: a story about finding a space to create! A young bunny makes the rounds of a studio building, taking in all the different artists in their habitats. Making, thinking, sharing, performing . . . but can our bunny find the perfect space to let imagination shine? In this charming ode to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tundra 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE ARR

Kunkel, Angela Burke

Summary: "A biography that follows the lives of Robert McCloskey, creator of Make Way for Ducklings, and sculptor Nancy Schön, whose famous bronze ducks grace Boston Public Garden"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Studio 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 920 KUN

Cameron, Julia

Summary: "The first new Artist's Way tool in more than 30 years from "the Queen of Change" (New York Times) author Julia Cameron. In the thirty years following the publication of The Artist's Way, Julia Cameron relied on an essential tool to help her through every juncture in life: writing for guidance. Now, in Living the Artist's Way, Cameron finally shares this method with the world as the fourth main...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Essentials 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: "Set in 1964, Final Portrait is the story of the touching and offbeat friendship between American writer and art-lover James Lord and world-renowned artist Alberto Giacometti. Lord's perspective reveals a unique insight into the beauty, frustration, profundity and sometimes chaos of the artistic process. While on a short trip to Paris, Lord is asked by his friend Giacometti to sit for a...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA FIN

Davis, Danielle

Summary: "A stunning picture book ode to the joys of the creative process and the spirit of collaboration. This lyrical story from Danielle Davis and Mags DeRoma is perfect for fans of Kevin Henkes, Gyo Fujikawa, and Julie Fogliano. To make ... a cake, a garden, a song, you first gather, then make--and wait. To make a story (like this one), you gather, make, wait. To make anything--big or small--it will...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE DAV

Guralnick, Peter

Summary: "Peter Guralnick's remarkable work... covers old ground from new perspectives, offering deeply felt, masterful, and strikingly personal portraits of creative artists, both musicians and writers, at the height of their powers. "You put the book down feeling that its sweep is vast, that you have read of giants who walked among us," rock critic Lester Bangs wrote of Guralnick's earlier work in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 780.92 GUR

Rubin, Rick

3 holds on 3 copies

Summary: "From the legendary music producer, a savant at helping people connect with the wellsprings of their creativity, comes a beautifully crafted book, many years in the making, that offers that same deep wisdom to all of us. "I set out to write a book about what to do to make a great work of art. Instead, it revealed itself to be a book on how to be." -Rick Rubin Many famed music producers, however...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Fhilippe, Jean

Summary: "A wildly imaginative fantasy graphic novel about the responsibilities of creation.... Leftstar can't seem to access the world they've been building. They also haven't slept in a long time. These things are almost certainly unrelated, and they should really go get the mail, anyway. But their trip to the post office is interrupted by a curious visitor: an enormous fruit bat. Whisked away in the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Silver Sprocket 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: 741.5 FHI

Barry, Lynda

Summary: "For more than five years the cartoonist Lynda Barry has been an associate professor in the University of Wisconsin-Madison art department and at the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery, teaching students from all majors, both graduate and undergraduate, how to make comics, how to be creative, how to not think. There is no academic lecture in this classroom. Doodling is enthusiastically...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Drawn & Quarterly 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: 741.5 BAR

Oliver, Mary

Summary: A collection of essays follows the author as she contemplates the pleasure of artistic labor; her boundless curiosity for the flora and fauna that surround her; and the responsibility she has inherited from the great thinkers and writers of the past.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 814 OLI

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 814 OLI

García Lorca, Federico

Summary: Poems are in Spanish, and in English translation.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New Directions 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 468.4 GAR

Pressfield, Steven.

2 holds on 2 copies

Summary: "In this powerful, straight-from-the-hip examination of the internal obstacles to success, bestselling author Steven Pressfield shows readers how to identify, defeat, and unlock the inner barriers to creativity. The War of Art is an inspirational, funny, well-aimed kick in the pants guaranteed to galvanize every would-be artist, visionary, or entrepreneur."--Back cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Black Irish Entertainment 2012

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

McPhee, John

Summary: The long-awaited guide to writing long-form nonfiction by the legendary author and teacher Draft No. 4 is an elucidation of the writer's craft by a master practitioner. In a series of playful but expertly wrought essays, John McPhee shares insights he's gathered over his career and refined during his long-running course at Princeton University, where he has launched some of the most esteemed...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 808 MCP

Grogan, Jake

Summary: "A collection of the true stories that inspired 202 of the world's most famous books"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 808.3 GRO

Summary: In this semi-biographical film, a famous horror writer finds inspiration for her next book after she and her husband take in a young couple.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA SHI

Flaherty, Alice.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 808 FLA

Fitzgerald, Michael

Contents: Jonathan Swift (1667-1745) -- Hans Christian Andersen (1805-75) -- Herman Melville (1819-91) -- Lewis Carroll (1832-98) -- William Butler Yeats (1865-1939) -- Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) -- George Orwell (1903-50) -- Bruce Chatwin (1940-89) -- Spinoza (1632-77) -- Immanuel Kant (1724-1804) -- Simone Weil (1909-43) -- A.J. Ayer (1910-89) -- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-91) -- Ludwig van...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Jessica Kingsley Publishers 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 616.8588 FIT

Barry, Lynda

Summary: "It" is a highly imaginative, image-and-words collage, mashed-up with a how-to-write book and highlighted with autobiographical snippets. Barry's purpose is to urge readers to interact with their own imagery, ideas, and stories, then write and/or draw them. The text wanders through a colorful, free-form garden of birds, animals, flowers, and snippets of letters and quotations, almost demanding...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Drawn & Quarterly 2008

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: 741.5 BAR

Summary: "Book advocate Colby Sharp presents more than forty beloved, award-winning, diverse and bestselling authors and illustrators in a creative challenge! Colby Sharp invited more than forty authors and illustrators to provide story starters for each other; photos, drawings, poems, prose, or anything they could dream up. When they received their prompts, they responded by transforming these seeds...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Parent-Teacher Collection, Call number: JPT 810.8 CRE

Anders, Charlie Jane

Summary: "Things are scary right now. We're all being swept along by a tidal wave of history, and it's easy to feel helpless. But we're not helpless: we have minds, and imaginations, and the ability to visualize other worlds and valiant struggles. And writing can be an act of resistance that reminds us that other futures and other ways of living are possible. Full of memoir, personal anecdote, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tordotcom 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Johnson, Fenton

Summary: "A meditation on solitude as a font of creativity and spirituality. Known for his lyrical prose and clear insight, Fenton Johnson explores what it means to be not "single"-meaningless outside of coupledom-but "solitary," able to be alone, inclined to mine the treasures of inner life. Americans tend to celebrate "fortress marriage," turning an equal right into an omnivorous expectation,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 155.9 JOH

Okorafor, Nnedi

Summary: "Nnedi Okorafor was never supposed to be paralyzed. A college track star and budding entomologist, Nnedi's lifelong battle with scoliosis was just a bump in her plan--something a simple operation would easily correct. But when Nnedi wakes from the surgery to find she can't move her legs, her entire sense of self begins to waver. Confined to a hospital bed for months, unusual things begin to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 OKO

Carter, Ally

Summary: Have you always wanted to write a book, but don't know where to start? Or maybe you're really great at writing the first few chapters . . . but you never quite make it to the end? Or do you finally have a finished manuscript, but you're not sure what to do next? Fear not -- if you have writing-related questions, this book has answers! Whether you're writing for fun or to build a career,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Mountain Dreamer, Oriah

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperSanFrancisco 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 153.35 MOU

chat loading...
Back to Top