Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Summary: Jude is a dock worker from Liverpool who travels to the United States in the 1960s to find his estranged father. There, he falls in love with sheltered American teenager Lucy. When her brother, Max, is drafted to fight in the Vietnam War, they become involved in peace activism.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Musicals DVDs, Call number: DVD MUSICALS ACR

Cline, Emma.

1 hold on 4 copies

Summary: Mesmerized by a band of girls in the park whom she perceives as enjoying a life of free and careless abandon, 1960s teen Evie Boyd becomes obsessed with gaining acceptance into their circle. Evie, grateful for their charismatic leader's attention, the sense of family the group offers, and the assurance of the girls, is swept into their chaotic cult existence. As things turn darker, her choices...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2016

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CLI

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CLI

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: Fiction Cline 2016

Shiner, Lewis

Summary: What happened to the idealism of the 1960s? This question has haunted a generation. Outside the Gates of Eden follows two men from their first meeting in high school to their final destination in the twenty-first century. Alex is torn between his father's business empire and his own artistic yearnings. Cole finds his calling at a Bob Dylan concert in 1965. From the Summer of Love in San...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC SHI

Summary: Follows the lives and careers of a group of artists and designers who inadvertently affected the art world.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Oscilloscope Pictures 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC BEA

Cline, Emma

Summary: Girls-- their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong-- are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC CLI

White-Spunner, Barney

Summary: Berlin is as challenging a city as it is vital, and always has been since its medieval foundation as twin fishing villages. In exploring the fascinating history of this city, discover how a people as civilized and religious as the Germans could have supported the Kaiser and the Nazis as they inflicted the misery upon the entire world.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2021

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 943 WHI

Moretta, John

Summary: "Among the most significant subcultures in modern U.S. history, the hippies had a far-reaching impact on American society. The entrenched institutions within the political and cultural establishments that the hippies challenged, or abandoned, mainly prevailed. Yet the nonviolent, egalitarian principles of the movement, underpinned an era of civic protest that brought an end to the Vietnam War"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.5 MOR

Shiner, Lewis

Summary: What happened to the idealism of the 1960s? This question has haunted a generation. Outside the Gates of Eden follows two men from their first meeting in high school to their final destination in the twenty-first century. Alex is torn between his father's business empire and his own artistic yearnings. Cole finds his calling at a Bob Dylan concert in 1965. From the Summer of Love in San...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC SHI

Summary: The award-winning true story of third-generation American farmer John Peterson's hero's journey of success, tribulation, failure and rebirth. He's not only a farmer, he's an artist too.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Gaiam Media 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC REA

Summary: Includes interviews with The Grateful Dead, Tom Wolfe, Timothy Leary and Ken Kesey. Also includes four live performances by The Grateful Dead.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Shout Factory LLC 2006

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

McKibben, Bill

Summary: "A book that's also the beginning of a movement, Bill McKibben's debut novel Radio Free Vermont follows a band of Vermont patriots who decide that their state might be better off as its own republic. As the host of Radio Free Vermont--"underground, underpowered, and underfoot"--seventy-two-year-old Vern Barclay is currently broadcasting from an "undisclosed and double-secret location." With the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Blue Rider Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCK

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCK

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MCK

Lopez, Barry Holstun

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Knopf 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LOP

MacFarlane, Scott

Summary: "Focusing on the years from 1962 through 1976, this book takes a constructivist look at the "Hippie" era's key works of prose, which in turn may be viewed as the literary canon of the counterculture. It examines the ways in which these works with their tendency toward whimsy and true spontaneity are genuinely reflective of the period"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: McFarland & Co. 2007

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 813.54 MacFarlane

Talbot, David

Summary: Traces the story of San Francisco in the latter half of the twentieth century, covering topics ranging from the civil rights movement and pop culture to the 49ers and famous crime cases.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Free Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.09794 TAL

Yandolino, Frank.

Summary: "Frank Yandolino rode the hippie counterculture movement alongside visionaries like Artie Kornfeld and Michael Lang, and he helped put together the Woodstock Festival of 1969. This memoir is an account of his life as a hippie, art director, entrepreneur, manager, and screenwriter (as well as various other hats he wore in the creative industry.)"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Skyhorse Publishing 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 YAN

Bisson, Terry.

Summary: A coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of the emerging radicalized culture of the 1960s throughout the eastern United States serves as a commentary on the nation as experienced by members of an isolated hippie commune.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Overlook Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BIS

Doctorow, Cory.

Summary: After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, California, seventeen-year-old Marcus, released into what is now a police state, decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House/Listening Library 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: YA CD FIC DOC

Stevenson, Douglas

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 333 STE

Summary: Ram Dass shares the essence of his core wisdom through his iconic humor, joy, and honesty. Historical footage compliments an engaging conversation with director Jamie Catto as they explore the life experiences that helped to free Ram Dass from the attachment to his "somebody-ness" a journey that transformed him into the radiant soul who now inspires a new generation. It is the quintessential...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC BEC

Summary: In a desert zone in California, a civilian tribunal sentences groups of dissidents and gives them the option of participating in law enforcement exercises in the Bear Montain National Punishment Park. Now these prisoners have to fight for their lives.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: New Yorker Video 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA PUN

Darznik, Jasmin

1 hold on 3 copies

Summary: "A dazzling novel of one of America's most celebrated photographers--exploring Dorothea Lange's wild years in San Francisco that awakened her career-defining grit, compassion, and daring. In 1918 Dorothea leaves the East Coast for California, where a disaster kick-starts a new life. Her friendship with Caroline Lee, a vivacious, straight-talking woman with a complicated past, gives her entrée...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: In 1964, author Ken Kesey and his friends, known as the Merry Pranksters, set out on a cross-country bus trip from California to New York to visit the World's Fair. They also decided to record it, with several 16 mm movie cameras and audio tape. Compiled from more than 40 hours of footage shot during the journey, it was the magical mystery tour--fueled by both the countercultural sentiments of...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Magnolia Pictures 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC MAG

Summary: Kowalski is a man who's tried to live by the rules, but experience has left him believing that the pretentions of the world offer no salvation and no freedom. Trying to transcend the limits of life, he takes a Dodge Challenger and bets that he can drive from Denver to San Francisco in fifteen hours. With the police soon in pursuit, he attempts to beat the odds, along the way recalling episodes...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Action / Adventure DVDs, Call number: DVD ACTION/ADVENTURE VAN

Doctorow, Cory.

Summary: When Marcus, once called M1k3y, receives a thumbdrive containing evidence of corporate and governmental treachery, his job, fame, family, and well-being, as well as his reform-minded employer's election campaign, are all endangered.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tor Teen 2013

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC DOC

Back to Top