Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Finneyfrock, Karen.

Summary: "Starbird has spent the first sixteen years of her life on a commune in the woods of Washington State. When she gets her Calling to become a waitress at the farm's satellite restaurant in Seattle, it means leaving behind the only place she's ever known and entering the World Outside"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC FIN

Jensen, Louise

Summary: ONCE YOU'RE IN, THEY'LL NEVER LET YOU LEAVE.At Oak Leaf Farm you will find a haven.Welcome to The Family.Laura is grieving after the sudden death of her husband. Struggling to cope emotionally and financially, Laura is grateful when a local community, Oak Leaf Organics, offer her and her 17-year-old daughter Tilly a home.But as Laura and Tilly settle into life with their new 'family', sinister...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HQ, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers Ltd 2019

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC JEN

Morrison, Toni.

Summary: Ruby, Oklahoma, was settled by nine African-American clans during the 1940s, but now the four women who occupy the Convent, an abandoned mansion not far from town, are the scapegoats for the ancestral feuds and financial and political troubles of the town.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Knopf 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOR

Updike, John.

Summary: New Englander Sarah Worth goes west to join a Hindu commune in Arizona. There she mingles with the other sannyasins (pilgrims) in the difficult attempt to subdue ego and achieve salvation and release from illusion.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Knopf 1988

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC UPD

Hoagland, Edward

Summary: "Press, a stockbroker going blind, has lost his job and his wife and is holed up in his Vermont cabin surrounded by a hippy commune, drug runners, farmers-gone-bust, blood-thirsty auctioneers, and general ne'er-do-wells. Solace and purpose come from the unlikeliest sources as he learns to navigate his new landscape without sight"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC HOA

Reiss, Kathryn

Summary: Visiting a ranch and commune in California Gold Rush country, Julie stumbles on a mysterious message that hints at long-lost treasure and she endeavors to find it before trouble shows up.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: American Girl 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction Series, Call number: J FIC REI

Wilson, Kevin

Summary: When Isabelle Poole meets Dr. Preston Grind, she's fresh out of high school, pregnant with her art teacher's baby, and totally on her own. Izzy knows she can be a good mother but without any money or relatives to help, she's left searching. Dr. Grind, an awkwardly charming child psychologist, has spent his life studying family, even after tragedy struck his own. Now, with the help of an...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WIL

Raymond, Jonathan.

Summary: The discovery of two skeletons during the filming of a movie in the Pacific Northwest intertwines the lives of two pairs of friends, separated by generations.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RAY

Dolan-Leach, Caite

Summary: Convinced that society is on the brink of collapse, five disillusioned twenty-somethings create a self-sustaining socialist commune, before their utopian vision is marred by desire, suspicion, and betrayal.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DOL

Dektar, Molly

Summary: Drawn by a mysterious stranger to a remote farming community that lives off the fertile mountain lands, a North Carolina teen is seduced by their high ideals before new friends begin to disappear.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DEK

Cline, Emma.

1 hold on 4 copies

Summary: Mesmerized by a band of girls in the park whom she perceives as enjoying a life of free and careless abandon, 1960s teen Evie Boyd becomes obsessed with gaining acceptance into their circle. Evie, grateful for their charismatic leader's attention, the sense of family the group offers, and the assurance of the girls, is swept into their chaotic cult existence. As things turn darker, her choices...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CLI

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CLI

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CLI

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: Fiction Cline 2016

Brown, Carolyn

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "Ever since childhood, Emma and Sophie were bound by a passion for painting. Like all young best friends, they promised to never lose touch. But the girls came from different worlds, and their paths diverged when Emma went to an elite college and Sophie worked her way through state school. After a decade they've reconnected, both in a time of need. Emma has been struggling with depression since...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Pochoda, Ivy

Summary: From the acclaimed author of Visitation Street, a visionary portrait of contemporary Los Angeles in all its facets, from the Mojave Desert to the Pacific, from the 110 to Skid Row. During a typically crowded morning commute, a naked runner is dodging between the stalled cars. The strange sight makes the local news and captures the imaginations of a stunning cast of misfits and lost souls....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: ECCO, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC POC

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC POC

Groff, Lauren.

Summary: The lyrical and haunting story of a great American dream--the progress of a utopian community and its lasting impact on a gifted young man.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hyperion 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GRO

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Groff 2012

Beverly-Whittemore, Miranda

3 holds on 2 copies

Summary: ""It's time to come Home. All five of you. Or else." Saskia was a damaged, lonely teenager when she arrived at the lakeside commune called Home. She was entranced by the tang of sourdough starter; the midnight call of the loons; the triumph of foraging wild mushrooms from the forest floor. But most of all she was taken with Abraham, Home's charismatic leader, the North Star to Saskia and the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flatiron Books 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Dunn, Mark

Summary: Recounts what happens when the citizens of an island must rely on all their ingenuity to communicate in an increasingly limited language when the goverment progressively bans letters from the alphabet.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: MacAdam/Cage Pub. 2001

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Cline, Emma

Summary: Girls-- their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong-- are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC CLI

Bitto, Emily

Summary: On her first day at a new school, Lily befriends one of the daughters of infamous avant-garde painter Evan Trentham. He and his wife are trying to escape the stifling conservatism of 1930s Australia by inviting other like-minded artists to live and work at their family home. Lily becomes infatuated with this wild, makeshift family and longs to truly be part of it. As the years pass, Lily...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Twelve 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BIT

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BIT

Youers, Rio

Summary: "HALCYON is the answer for all Americans who want to escape, but paradise isn't what it seems. A beautiful island in the middle of Lake Ontario--a self-sustaining community made up of people who want to live without fear, crime, or greed. Halcyon is run by Valerie Kemp, aka Mother Moon, benevolent and altruistic on the outside, but hiding an unimaginable darkness inside. She has dedicated her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC YOU

Summary: Tillsammans, ('Together' in English), is a commune in the heart of Stockholm, still going strong in 1975, long after most members of youth culture have abandoned their notions of free love, harmoniously integrated extended families, and naive political idealism in favor of jobs, discos, and TV sitcoms. The commune's 'leader' is sweet, conflict-avoiding Goran. The arrival of his conventional,...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Memfis Film 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN TOG

Back to Top