Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Walls, Jeannette.

Summary: Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2010

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 362.82 WAL

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 921 WALLS, JEANNETTE WAL

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD B WALLS

Summary: Scrappy, stubborn and strong, the Gallaghers are tested by changing times, but Season Six finds them older, wiser, and better at playing the system. Used to their natural state of chaos, the Gallaghers are as surprised as anyone at how life is turning out for them. But as they come into their own and find out who they really are is it really possible that they could grow apart for good?

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV SHA

Summary: The Gallaghers have always scraped by, but Season Seven finds them finally getting a leg up. When Frank awakens from a coma to learn that his family tossed him in the river, he declares war, Gallagher vs. Gallagher.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Woititz, Janet Geringer.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Health Communications 1990

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Konigsberg, Bill

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Carson Speier is bored of Billings, Montana, and resentful that he has to help his mother take care of his father, a dying alcoholic whom he has not seen in fourteen years--but then he meets Aisha, a beautiful African American girl who has run away from her own difficult family, and together they embark on a journey of discovery that may help them both come to terms with...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Arthur A. Levine Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc. 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC KON

Moore, Beth

Summary: Jillian Slater hadn't seen her father or his mother in almost 20 years until, on the news that her father had finally drunk himself to death, Adella Atwater, the manager of her grandmother's apartment house, calls and says Jillian's expenses would be paid if she'd fly in to New Orleans for the burial. What Adella didn't tell her was that the apartment house bears the dead weight of a long and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOO

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in New Fiction, Call number: FICTION MOO

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Moore 2016

Airgood, Ellen

Summary: When eleven-year-old Ivy Blake leaves the nice farm family where she has been living in upstate New York and moves back in with her mother she is finally forced to face up to the fact that her alcoholic, dysfunctional parent will never be able to provide her with a stable home--and if she wants to achieve her dreams she is going to have to take charge of her own future.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nancy Paulsen Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC AIR

Black, Claudia.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.2923 BLA

Ward, Jesmyn.

Summary: Enduring a hardscrabble existence as the children of alcoholic and absent parents, four siblings from a coastal Mississippi town prepare their meager stores for the arrival of Hurricane Katrina while struggling with such challenges as a teen pregnancy and a dying litter of prize pups.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2012

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC WAR

Walls, Jeannette.

1 hold on 12 copies

Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2006

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.82 WAL

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 WAL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WALLS, JEANETTE WAL

Woititz, Lisa Sue

Summary: In Unwelcome Inheritance, Lisa Sue Woititz combines her own insights with the unpublished contributions of her late mother, the early leader in the Adult Children of Alcoholics (ACOA) movement, Dr. Janet Woititz, uncovering how multiple generations of people affected by addiction continue to enable their children’s substance abuse and how, without realizing it, they continue to model the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hazelden Publishing 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Middelton-Moz, Jane

Contents: The bomb in the basement and the bomb in the attic : common characteristics of alcoholic families and survival adaptation of adult children of alcoholics -- The same but different : differences in children from the same alcoholic family and differences in alcoholic families -- Self-sufficient in an insufficient way : learning to survive under chronic stress -- The gift that keeps on giving :...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Health Communications 2010

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Frank comes out of a drug-induced haze and decides it's finally time to be a contributing member of society. Fiona faces hard decisions when she discovers her success as a landlord may mean someone else's misfortune. Lip struggles with staying sober, while Ian takes up a cause in hopes of getting back with Trevor. Debbie builds her future at welding school while juggling life as a single...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Bros. Home Entertainment 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV SHA

Friends in Recovery

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Recovery Publications 1987

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.2 TWE

Kritsberg, Wayne

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bantam Books 1988

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Gravitz, Herbert L.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 1987

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.2 Gravitz 1987

Friel, John C.

Summary: It is estimated that as many as 34 million people grew up in alcoholic homes. But what about the rest of us? What about families that had no alcoholism, but did have perfectionism, workaholism, compulsive overeating, intimacy problems, depression, problems in expressing feelings, plus all the other personality traits that can produce a family system much like an alcoholic one? Countless...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Health Communications 1988

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Gibbons, Kaye

Summary: One of the most talked-about and endearing first novels in years bears the story of a female Huck Finn and her search for a true home.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books 1990

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC GIB

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GIB

Woititz, Janet Geringer.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: G.K. Hall 1991

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 362.292 WOI

Nelsen, Jane.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Prima Pub. 1996

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.29 NEL

St. John, Linda

Summary: A memoir by a celebrated "outsider" artist details how her dirt-poor childhood, her strange family, and her father's illness shaped her into the person she is today.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 ST. JOHN, LINDA STJ

Alexie, Sherman

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, and loss from the critically acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award winner. When his mother passed away at the age of 78, Sherman Alexie responded the only way he knew how: he wrote. The result is this stunning memoir. Featuring 78 poems, 78 essays and intimate family photographs, Alexie shares raw, angry, funny, profane, tender memories...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Walton, Will

Summary: For most of his young life Avery has dealt with his alcoholic mother with the help of his grandfather Pal--he immerses himself in poetry and popular music, and now that high school is over for the summer, he makes out with his best friend Luca (who understands about alcoholic mothers), but the death of his grandfather creates a hole in his life that he can not seem to crawl out of.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PUSH, an imprint of Scholastic Inc. 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC WAL

Pelzer, David J.

Summary: In this sequel to A Child Called "It" answers will be exposed and new adventures revealed in this compelling story of his life as an adolescent. Now considered and F-child--a foster child--young David experiences the instability of moving in and out of five different homes. Those who feel that all foster kids are trouble--and unworthy of being loved just because they are not part of a real...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Health Communications 1997

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 361.7 Pelzer 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 PELZER, DAVE PEL