Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Lin, Chia-Chia

Summary: A searing debut novel that explores community, identity, and the myth of the American dream through an immigrant family in Alaska In Chia-Chia Lin's debut novel, The Unpassing , we meet a Taiwanese immigrant family of six struggling to make ends meet on the outskirts of Anchorage, Alaska. The father, hardworking but beaten down, is employed as a plumber and repairman, while the mother, a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LIN

Hogan, Ruth

Summary: "They say friends make life worth living... Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, Masha's life was forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds comfort in her faithful canine companion Haizum, and peace in the quiet lanes of her town's swimming pool. Almost without her realizing it, her life has shuddered to a halt. It's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crooked Lane Books 2019

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HOG

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HOG

Erdrich, Louise

Summary: North Dakota, late summer, 1999. Landreaux Iron stalks a deer along the edge of the property bordering his own. He shoots with easy confidence - but when the buck springs away, Landreaux realizes he's hit something else, a blur he saw as he squeezed the trigger. When he staggers closer, he realizes he has killed his neighbor's five-year-old son, Dusty Ravich. The youngest child of his friend...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ERD

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ERD

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ERD

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ERD
1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ERD

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Erdrich 2016

Erdrich, Louise

Summary: Landreaux Iron stalks a deer along the edge of the property bordering his own. He shoots with easy confidence -- but when the buck springs away, Landreaux realizes he's hit something else. When he staggers closer, he realizes he has killed his neighbor's five-year-old son, Dusty. The youngest child of his friend and neighbor, Peter Ravich, Dusty was best friends with Landreaux's five-year-old...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperLuxe, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Display, Call number: LP FIC ERD

Hassib, Rajia

Summary: The affluent Al-Menshawy family find their American dream shattered when a devastating turn of events leaves their eldest son and their neighbor's daughter dead, and, becoming pariahs in their upscale New Jersey community, they struggle to keep their family together.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HAS

Picoult, Jodi

Summary: Leaving Home brings together three previously published short pieces, each dealing with a variation on the theme of leaving home. The first, "Weights and measures," deals with the tragic loss of a child; the second is a non-fiction letter Picoult wrote to her eldest son as he left for college; and "Ritz" tells the story of a mother who takes the vacation all mothers need sometime.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Brilliance Audio 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC PIC

Erdrich, Louise

Summary: North Dakota, 1999. Landreaux Iron accidentally shoots and kills five-year-old Dusty Ravich, the son of his neighbors. The two families have always been close; Dusty was best friends with Landreaux's son LaRose. Horrified, Landreaux turns to tradition--prayer in an Ojibwe sweat lodge--for guidance, and finds a way forward. Following an ancient means of atonement, he and his wife will give...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Audio 2016

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD Fiction Erdrich 2016

Leigh, Julia

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LEI

Connors, Rose.

Summary: When can a citizen become a killer? Is homicidal insanity ever a moral or legal justification for murder? And what should a jury do when the facts are clear but they don't tell the real story? Cape Cod attorney Marty Nickerson, until recently a Massachusetts prosecutor, must ask herself those questions in her new role as defense attorney for Buck Hammond. The charge is murder one. When Buck's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CON

Taylor, Barbara J.

Summary: In early 20th century Pennsylvania, a few months after her sister's mysterious death, eight-year-old Violet befriends a motherless schoolmate, Stanley, who works as a breaker boy in the mines. Meanwhile, Violet's father and mother find other ways cope with their grief.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC TAY

Payne, Melissa.

2 holds on 4 copies

Summary: "Ten years ago, Claire Hines lost her unborn child--and her short-term memory--following a heartrending tragedy. With notebooks, calendars, to-do lists, fractured pieces of the past, and her father's support, Claire makes it through each day, hour by hour, with relative confidence. She also has a close-knit community of friends in the remote Alaskan town where she teaches guitar to the local...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Lake Union Publishing 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PAY

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PAY

Singer, Randy (Randy D.)

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Waterbrook Press 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SIN

Johncock, Benjamin

Summary: "Jim Harrison is a test pilot in the United States Air Force in the post-World War II era and a young husband and father, but when his family is faced with a sudden inexplicable tragedy, his instincts as a father and a pilot are put to test as the family experiences both fear and hope"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC JOH

Hoag, Tami

Summary: "When Detective Nick Fourcade enters the home of Genevieve Gauthier outside the sleepy town of Bayou Breaux, Louisiana, the bloody crime scene that awaits him is both the most brutal and the most confusing he's ever seen. Genevieve's seven-year-old son, KJ, has been murdered by an alleged intruder, yet Genevieve is alive and well, a witness inexplicably left behind to tell the tale. There is no...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC HOA

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP MYSTERY HOA

Johncock, Benjamin

Summary: A U.S. Air Force test pilot passes up the chance to become an astronaut after his wife gets pregnant against all odds, and as fatherhood consumes him, a sudden tragedy puts his instincts as a father and as a pilot to the test.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Picador 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC JOH

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Johncock 2015

Hijuelos, Oscar.

Summary: In New York, a father's worst nightmare arrives just before Christmas when Edward Ives learns his son Robert, 17, was murdered in the street for $10 by another teenager. The novel describes his coming to terms with his loss. By the author of The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins Publishers 1995

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HIJ

Straub, Peter

Summary: Willy Patrick finds her life intersecting with that of a stranger, Timothy Underhill, when she experiences an eerie event involving the death of her daughter and Timothy receives communications from dead people he had known in his youth.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Audio 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC STR

Odell, Jonathan

Summary: Two young mothers have each lost a child, but they overcome their racial differences to bring about justice in a pre-Civil Rights Mississippi town.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: MacAdam/Cage 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ODE

De Vries, Peter

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 1982

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DEV

Hegi, Ursula

Summary: "From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus has come to the island Nordstrand in Germany. Big-bellied girls rush from St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls, thrilled to see the parade and the show, followed by the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flatiron Books 2020

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HEG

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HEG

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: Fiction Hegi 2020

Bohjalian, Chris

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: The devastating loss of their twin daughters in a flash flood turns the lives of Terry and Laura Sheldon upside down as their marriage is tested by grief, Terry's brief love affair, and their growing relationship with their foster child, a ten-year-old African American boy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Shaye Areheart Books 2002

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC BOH

Bohjalian, Chris

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BOH

Rice, Luanne

Summary: Fifteen-year-old Emily has six siblings, but she was also close to her best friend, Lizzie Porter, who died nearly a year ago, and she is still grieving; but Lizzie's family are also grieving, so much so, that they use Lizzie's younger sister, Chloe, as a lure and kidnap Emily, forcing her to dress, talk, and act like Lizzie, and threatening to go after Emily's family if she does not become the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Grunwald, Lisa.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Books 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC Grunw

Back to Top