Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Blake, Jenny

Summary: "Jenny Blake, bestselling author of Life After College and former career development program manager at Google, shows how to move into your next career phase by leveraging what you already do well. Now, more than ever, we need to navigate career changes deftly and frequently. The average employee tenure in America is just four or five years, and even those job roles often change dramatically...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Portfolio/Penguin 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 658 BLA

Summary: The first day on the job-not to mention the first week or the first month-can be an overwhelming experience. This program empowers job seekers as well as new hires as they explore the issues surrounding what is invariably a major life change. Students are introduced to the preparations typically needed to survive, and possibly even enjoy, their first day. These include planning transportation...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2009

View online at AVOD

Summary: A positive attitude is essential on the job. When Florence receives a negative performance review, she is forced to confront her weaknesses. Using humorous vignettes in the present and in her childhood, Flo demonstrates why she's in trouble. With a little help from an unseen narrator, Flo recognizes that attitude, responsibility, and communication are the key to her success on the job and takes...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2007

View online at AVOD

Summary: The relationship between supervisors and support staff members can often run off the smooth road of productivity. The major reason for problems between supervisors and staff is a lack of effective, open communication. This program is a dramatization of one employee's problems with his supervisor. The information he receives from the company's personnel manager gets him on track with how to cope...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2006

View online at AVOD

Summary: Show your students how to find great jobs fast-with the Internet. This video will tell them everything they need to know to start blazing an electronic path to outstanding career opportunities. It covers how to find and then effectively search mega-job sites, industry- or profession-specific sites, and individual company sites; how to prepare Web-ready and E-mail-compatible resumes and cover...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2005

View online at AVOD

Summary: Is the hard part over once a person lands a job? No, the hard part has just begun! This program shows viewers not only how to survive on the job, but how to get ahead, too. Attitude, timeliness, dress, ethics, grooming, teamwork, conflict resolution, and getting along with co-workers are among the topics discussed in this video. Interviews with employers are interspersed with commonsense...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2007

View online at AVOD

Summary: Video version. Viewers meet two young managers who help workers with appropriate responses to feedback in different work situations. Whether feedback is true, unclear, or downright false, we discover how to respond in a way that enables us to develop confidence, separate our reactions from our feelings, and learn from the situation. Using live-action video, the CD-ROM program guides the user...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2006

View online at AVOD

Brzezinski, Mika

Summary: A practical career guidebook that no only helps you get your foot in the door but also show you how to negotiate a raise, advocate for more responsibility, and establish whether you're in the career that's right for you. -- back cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hachette Books 2019

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 650.1 BRZ

Goodman, Steven Roy.

Summary: "This collection of witty, inspiring, and thought-provoking eassays empowers prospective students and others eager to understand the complete college experience -- lessons learned from triumph and near disaster and from professors and peers, as well as the turning points that helped launch careers and define character."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Miniver Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 378.1 GOO

Summary: A lot of people think the best way to keep a job is to just do what you are told. That is part of it, but not all of it, by far. Today's employers are looking for people who can truly contribute to the company-someone who can handle responsibility, be flexible, and adapt! This enlightening program explores common-sense rules to follow and exactly what employers are looking for in the next...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2007

View online at AVOD

Mulcahy, Diane

Summary: From Uber to the presidential debates, the gig economy has been dominating the headlines…and for good reason. Today, more than a third of Americans are working in the gig economy—mixing together short-term jobs, contract work, and freelance assignments. For those who’ve figured out the formula, life has never been better

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: AMACOM 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 650.1 MUL

Seidman, William Henry.

Contents: Follow your stars to a brighter future -- Reach for your stars -- Discover and describe: the detective -- Transform for brilliance -- Motivate the rest to be like the best -- Own your own learning -- Learning to lead -- Distribute globally, act locally -- Experience a real-world executive program -- Unleash the suppressed energy of frontline managers -- Drive cultural change with individual...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 658.3 SEI

Hauser, Fran

Summary: A guide for ambitious women who want to succeed without losing themselves deconstructs the double standards that label and hold back women, sharing anecdotes and strategies for sidestepping regressive stereotypes, cultivating confidence, and balancing personal and professional values.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 651 HAU

Kleon, Austin.

Summary: Presents practical advice for increasing productivity on creative projects and improving their chances for success through strategies of networking and sharing works and ideas with like-minded members of the community and on the Internet.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Workman Publishing Company 2014

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Albion, Mark S.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Books 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 658.409 ALB

Summary: Parents often disagree about the best way to raise children, and when they seek professional advice, find the experts are at odds with each other, too. This program helps caregivers sort through the contradictions as it summarizes some major theories of child development. Pointing out that different philosophies each tend to focus on only one aspect of human growth, the video reviews Piaget's...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2007

View online at AVOD

Rubin, Harriet.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperBusiness 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 650.1 RUB

Gale, Mary Anne.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Careerscape 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 650.14 GAL

Svitil, Torene

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Enslow Publishers 2007

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Arment, Ben.

Summary: "About two-thirds of Americans hate their jobs and feel like they're not making a difference in the world. They're frustrated by unrealized dreams that seem hopelessly out of reach. Serial entrepreneur Ben Arment has developed a one-year process called Dream Year, which helps people make radical changes in their careers and lives. His book outlines practical steps to identify, finance, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Group USA 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 651 ARM

Rottenberg, Linda.

Summary: "In the tradition of both The Lean Startup and Lean In, a manifesto about taking smart risks in pursuit of big dreams Linda Rottenberg has spent her career helping innovators think big. "If people aren't calling you crazy, you aren't thinking big enough," she says. These days taking chances isn't just for young college dropouts in hoodies. Whether you work at a Fortune 500 company, a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Portfolio Hardcover 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 651 ROT

Summary: Career planning is an essential part of life development-and it can take place at any stage in one's professional life. Taking into account the constantly evolving job market and the continual changes occurring in higher education, this program helps viewers develop a career pathway plan that identifies three areas of interest and the ways each of them can be achieved, short-term and long-term....

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2010

View online at AVOD

Summary: It doesn't take a college education to realize that a college education is not for everyone. Careers Without College spells out some of the other options available to high school graduates. Through humorous scenes, objective narration, and interviews with real people, viewers follow fictional, average students as they explore the possibilities before them. This production examines some choices...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2006

View online at AVOD

Summary: This video points out distinctions and similarities between industries and functions. Several primary industries and job functions are described, giving students insight into types of work that they might enjoy.

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2005

View online at AVOD