Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Johnson, Rebecca L.

Summary: Presents animals that use camouflauge to survive, including the harlequin filefish, the gliding lizard, and the cuckoo finch.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Millbrook Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 591.47 JOH

Latham, Donna

Summary: Biology is the study of life, and life is all around you. You can find life thriving in the city and in the country, teeming in ecosystems around the planet--in deserts, oceans, and even the Arctic. Backyard Biology: Discover the Life Cycles and Adaptations Outside Your Door with Hands-On Science Activities introduces readers ages 9 to 12 to the amazing world of life science right outside their...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nomad Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 570.78 LAT

Summary: "Introduction to living things' basic needs using simple text, illustrations, and photos. Features include puzzles and games, fun facts, a resource list, and an index"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: World Book 2011

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 570 WHA

Parker, Steve

Summary: A Brief Illustrated History of Life on Earth' charts the evolution of living species all the way from 2.5 billion years ago, through the Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous periods and right through to today. With stunning full-color images and illustrations, this beautiful book is sure to fascinate and charm the young reader.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Capstone Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 576 PAR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 576 PAR

Harrison, David L.

Summary: "Some animals hide to hunt for food, and others hide to avoid becoming dinner. It's easy to see why a disappearing act is important for many reasons. From octopus to polar bear, and from the praying mantis to the hawk, discover how and why many animals cleverly use camouflage."--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Charlesbridge 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 811 HAR

Peterson, Christy

Summary: Containing 97 percent of Earth's water supply, the ocean plays a huge role in regulating global temperatures, supporting plant and animal life, and contributing to the livelihoods of millions of people. But in spite of all this, the ocean remains drastically unexplored, and the details of its impact on human lives aren't fully understood. Scientists from around the world are realizing that to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Twenty-First Century Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 551.46 PET

McElligott, Matthew

Summary: "Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist will want to join Dr. Cosmic's class of clever monsters as they explore the dark depths of the ocean in the fourth book of the Mad Scientist Academy series. The students in Dr. Cosmic's class take their lessons underwater when they're introduced to his latest invention, the SKWID--a special submarine that explores the ocean and looks like a real giant squid! With...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown Books for Young Readers 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 577.7 MCE

Midthun, Joseph

Summary: "A graphic nonfiction volume that introduces the cells, tissues, and organs of the human body"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: World Book, a Scott Fetzer Company 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 571.6 MID

Summary: Travel back in time, from the Arctic Ocean to Pacific tide pools, with a pioneering group of scientists who make surprising discoveries that transform human understanding of nature and ecology.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV SER

Hunter, Scott (G. Scott)

Summary: Covers the New York State syllabus for biology and includes topic summaries, review questions, and answers, and two practice exams.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Bereznai, Steven

Summary: The Genetic Wars that turned most of the planet into a wasteland are over. The so-called "dregs" (DNA regulars) and superpowered Supergenics now live separately from each other--the Supergenics in the shiny towers of Jupitar City; the dregs across the river in the squat concrete buildings of the boroughs. But some dreg parents continue to bear Supergenic children; under repressive laws, they...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Jambor 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA FIC BER

Lane, Nick

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "A renowned biochemist's illuminating inquiry into the Krebs cycle and the origins of life. What brings the Earth to life, and our own lives to an end? For decades, biology has been dominated by the study of genetic information. Information is important, but it is only part of what makes us alive. Our inheritance also includes our living metabolic network, a flame passed from generation to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ripley, Mark

Summary: Readers with inquisitive minds are guaranteed to enjoy this fascinating look at life science in action. Highlighting one of Earth s most popular animals, this book investigates the science behind the polar bear s unique adaptations. Each chapter is accompanied by vibrant photographs, which complement the text. Manageable language explains advanced concepts in an accessible manner. This...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PowerKids Press 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Burnie, David.

Summary: Explores the microscopic world of cells, examines how living things survive, and investigates the origins of life.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dorling Kindersley 1994

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 570 BUR

Lai, Larissa

Summary: "In this visionary novel by Larissa Lai--her first in sixteen years--a community of parthenogenic women, sent into exile by the male-dominated Salt Water City, goes to war against disease, technology, and powerful men that threaten them with extinction. Kirilow is a doctor apprentice whose lover Peristrophe is a "starfish," a woman who can regenerate her own limbs and organs, which she uses to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Arsenal Pulp Press 2018

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LAI

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LAI

Roach, Mary

Summary: "What is it like to float weightlessly in the air? What happens if you vomit in your helmet during a spacewalk? How do astronauts go to the bathroom? Is it true that they don't shower? Can farts really be deadly in space? Best-selling Mary Roach has the answers. In this whip-smart, funny, and informative young readers adaptation of her best-selling Packing for Mars, Roach guides us through the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Norton Young Readers 2022

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 571.0919 ROA

Silverberg, Cory

Summary: "A comic book for kids that includes children and families of all makeups, orientations, and gender identities, Sex Is a Funny Word is an essential resource about bodies, gender, and sexuality for children ages 8 to 10 as well as their parents and caregivers. Much more than the "facts of life" or "the birds and the bees," Sex Is a Funny Word opens up conversations between young people and their...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Seven Stories Press 2015

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 613.9071 SIL

Johnson, Princess Daazhraii

Summary: "When some scientist friends ask Molly to help track cranes, she can't wait to lend a hand."--Publisher's description.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, HarperCollins Publishers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Amazing creatures is filled with exciting full-color photos and fascinating facts about the world's most spectacular animals.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Kidsbooks 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 591.472 AMA

Summary: Years after the Raccoon City disaster, Alice is on her own. She is aware that she has become a liability and could endanger those around her and she struggles to survive and bring down the Umbrella Corporation led by the sinister Albert Wesker and head researcher Dr. Isaacs. Meanwhile, traveling through the Nevada Desert and the ruins of Las Vegas, Carlos Olivera, L.J., and new survivors...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment 2008

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD RES

Rabe, Tish.

Summary: Hide-and-seek is a great game, but Nick always finds where Sally is hiding. And "that's" no fun! Enter the Cat in the Hat. His friend Gecko is an expert at hiding. Maybe Gecko can share some tips with the kids?

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2011

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JBR PURPLE RAB

Summary: "They are the most iconic animals on Planet Earth - voracious crocodiles, acrobatic birds, majestic elephants, stupendous whales. To see them is to marvel - and to ask a surprisingly challenging question: Where did these amazing creatures come from? Traveling millions of years into the past, we unravel these iconic creatures' lineage - a story full of twists and turns, punctuated by dramatic...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV WHE

Brooke, Samantha

Summary: Ms. Frizzle's class learns about camoflage in the animal world and competes in a school-wide game of hide-and-seek.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Inc. 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Heard, Stephen B.

Summary: Ever since Carl Linnaeus's binomial system of scientific names was adopted in the eighteenth century, scientists have been eponymously naming organisms in ways that both honor and vilify their namesakes. This charming, informative, and accessible history examines the fascinating stories behind taxonomic nomenclature, from Linnaeus himself naming a small and unpleasant weed after a rival...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yale University Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 578.012 HEA

Back to Top