Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Hirshey, Gerri

Summary: "A bold and deeply researched biography of a complicated cultural icon. When Helen Gurley Brown published Sex and the Single Girl in 1962, it sold more than two million copies in just three weeks, presaging the self-help boom and helping to usher in the unapologetic self-affirmation of second wave feminism. Brown declared that it was okay, even imperative, to enjoy sex outside of marriage; that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sarah Crichton Books, Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BROWN, HELEN GURLEY HIR

Gregorio, Katharine

Summary: "Illuminating a thrilling untold chapter of the Cold War, The Double Life of Katharine Clark shares the forgotten story of a remarkable woman who pioneered a career in a male-dominated profession. In 1955, Katharine Clark became the first female American wire reporter behind the Iron Curtain, forging a career as a journalist, befriending a leading Communist, and risking her life to smuggle away...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Arlen, Alice

Summary: "The fascinating biography of the maverick newspaperwoman, equestrian, aviatrix and intrepid adventurer Alicia Patterson, which follows her exceptional exploits through the first half of the 20th century, from her troublemaking days as the middle child of complicated parents to her successes as publisher of the Pulitzer Prize winning Newsday"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Roberts, Steven V.

Summary: Cokie Roberts' husband Steve Roberts reflects not only on her many accomplishments, but on how she lived each day with a devotion to helping others. For Steve, Cokie's private life was as significant and inspirational as her public one. Her commitment to celebrating and supporting other women was evident in everything she did, and her generosity and passion drove her personal and professional...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 ROBERTS, COKIE ROB

Bloom, Patience.

Summary: "Who knows the ins and outs of romance better than a Harlequin editor? A surprising and exhilarating look into Patience Bloom's unexpected real-life love story. At some point, we've all wished romance could be more like fiction. Patience Bloom certainlydid, many times over. As a teen she fell in love with Harlequin novels and imagined her life would turn out just like the heroines' on the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Group USA 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BLOOM, PATIENCE BLO

Hotchner, A. E.

Summary: "In June of 1961, A.E. Hotchner visited an old friend in the psychiatric ward of St. Mary's Hospital. It would be the last time they spoke: a few weeks later, Ernest Hemingway was released home, where he took his own life. Their final conversation was also the final installment in a story whose telling Hemingway had spread over nearly a decade. Hemingway divulged the details of the affair that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HEMINGWAY, ERNEST HOT

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B HEMINGWAY HOT

Claridge, Laura P.

Summary: "Left off her company's fifth anniversary tribute but described by Thomas Mann as "the soul of the firm," Blanche Knopf began her career when she founded Alfred A. Knopf with her husband in 1915. With her finger on the pulse of a rapidly changing culture, Blanche quickly became a driving force behind the firm. A conduit to the literature of Langston Hughes and the Harlem Renaissance, Blanche...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 KNOPF, BLANCHE CLA

Folkenflik, David.

Summary: "NPR's media correspondent delves into the most influential media company in the world, News Corporation, showing how Murdoch survived the corruption scandal that nearly tore it apart In July 2012, testifying before a British parliamentary inquiry aboutthe News of the World telephone hacking scandal, Rupert Murdoch experienced what he called "the most humble day of my life." Murdoch seemed...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PublicAffairs 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 MURDOCH, RUPERT FOL

Greenway, H. D. S.

Summary: "David Greenway, a journalist's journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it's like to report a war up close"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 GREENWAY, H.D.S. GRE

Tizon, Alex.

Summary: "A Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist's memoir, in the spirit of Richard Rodriquez's Hunger for Memory and Nathan McCall's Makes Me Wanna Holler--an intimate look at the mythology, experience, and psyche of the Asian American male"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 TIZON, ALEX TIZ

Stahl, Lesley

Summary: "From one of the country's most recognizable journalists: How becoming a grandmother transforms a woman's life. After four decades as a reporter, Lesley Stahl's most vivid and transformative experience of her life was not covering the White House, interviewing heads of state, or researching stories at 60 Minutes. It was becoming a grandmother. She was hit with a jolt of joy so intense and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Blue Rider Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.8 STA

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 306.874 STA

Muto, Joe.

Summary: A memoir of the author's experiences as a liberal employee at Fox News Channel recounts his deliberate decision to reveal unflattering information through Gawker and his witness to the network's right-wing ideologies.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 MUTO, JOE MUT

Summary: "The books that we choose to keep-let alone read-can say a lot about who we are and how we see ourselves. In The ideal bookshelf, dozens of leading cultural figures share the books that matter to them most-books that define their dreams and ambitions and in many cases helped them find their way in the world. With colorful and endearingly hand-rendered images of book spines by Jane Mount, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Co. 2012

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 028 MY

Coyne, Kate

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Hilarious essays about awkward run-ins with celebrities, the nature of celebrity, and what it says about our culture, by the Executive Editor of People Magazine. --Provided by the publisher"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hachette Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 COYNE, KATE COY

Mitchell, Jerry

Summary: "An award-winning investigative reporter shares the real-life detective story of how Klansmen came to justice in notorious unsolved civil rights cold cases--decades after they had gotten away with murder"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.152 MIT

Cooper, Anderson.

Summary: Anderson Cooper's intensely busy career as a journalist for CNN and CBS' 60 Minutes affords him little time to spend with his ninety-one year old mother. After she briefly fell ill, he and Gloria began a conversation through e-mail unlike any they had ever had before, a correspondence of surprising honesty and depth in which they discussed their lives, the things that matter to them, and what...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA 920 COO

Cooper, Anderson.

Summary: "A charming, intimate and fascinating collection of correspondence between broadcaster and #1 New York Times bestselling author Anderson Cooper and his mother, the celebrated Gloria Vanderbilt"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins Publishers 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 COO

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 920 COO

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 Cooper 2016

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B COOPER COO

Hersh, Seymour M

Summary: "A memoir of renowned investigative journalist Seymour Hersh's life as a reporter"-- "From the Pulitzer-prize-winning, bestselling author and preeminent investigative journalist of our time--an intensely personal, revelatory memoir of a matchless career that has encompassed the most important stories of the last half century. Seymour M. Hersh's fearless reporting has earned him fame, front-page...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HERSH, SEYMOUR M HER

Drayton, Joanne.

Summary: "In 1994, director Peter Jackson released the movie Heavenly Creatures, based on a famous 1950s matricide committed in New Zealand by two teenage girls embroiled in an obsessive relationship. The movie launched Jackson's international career. It also forever changed the life of Anne Perry, an award-winning, bestselling crime writer, who at the time of the movie's release was publicly outed at...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Perseus Distribution Services 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 PERRY, ANNE DRA

Hodgman, George.

Summary: "A witty, tender memoir of a son's journey home to care for his irascible mother--a tale of secrets, silences, and enduring love. When George Hodgman leaves Manhattan for his hometown of Paris, Missouri, he finds himself--an unlikely caretaker and near-lethal cook--in a head-on collision with his aging mother, Betty, a woman of wit and will. Will George lure her into assisted living? When hell...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking Adult 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HODGMAN, GEORGE HOD

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B HODGMAN HOD

Pollen, Bella

Summary: "Growing up the middle child of transatlantic parents-her English Rose mother and cowboy boot-loving father-Bella Pollen never quite figured out how to belong. Restlessly crossing back and forth between the boundaries of family and freedom, England and America, home and away, she has sought but generally failed to contain an adventurous spirit within the confines of conventional living. When...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 POLLEN, BELLA POL

Back to Top