Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Bornstein, Michael

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: In 1945, in a now-famous piece of World War II archival footage, four-year-old Michael Bornstein was filmed by Soviet soldiers as he was carried out of Auschwitz in his grandmother's arms. Here is the unforgettable story of how a father's courageous wit, a mother's fierce love, and one perfectly timed illness saved Michael's life, and how others in his family from Zarki, Poland, dodged death at...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Macmillan Audio 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Crippa, Luca

3 holds on 4 copies

Summary: "Wilhelm Brasse: "I looked death in the eyes. I did it fifty thousand times..." When Germany invaded Poland in 1939, photographer Wilhelm Brasse was sent to Auschwitz. His inability to condone the Third Reich and swear allegiance to Hitler landed him at one of the deadliest concentration camps of WWII. There, he was forced to record the camp's atrocities. From 1940-1945, Brasse took more than...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Browsing Hot Titles, Call number: HOT TITLE

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Beautiful and full of life, Helena Citron, is taken to Auschwitz as a young woman and soon finds unlikely solace under the protection of Franz Wunsch, a high-ranking SS officer who falls in love with her and her magnetic singing voice. Risking execution if caught, they went on with their forbidden relationship until the war ended and the camp was liberated. Thirty years later, a letter arrives...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Morris, Heather

Summary: This novel is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. Lale was given the job of tattooing the prisoners and used the job's freedom of movement to trade items taken from murdered Jews for food to keep others alive.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC MOR

Morris, Heather

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: For fans of Schindler's List; The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz; and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas; comes a heart breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. He tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on his heart.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA FIC MOR

Summary: October 1944, Auschwitz-Birkenau. Saul Ausländer is a Hungarian member of the Sonderkommando, the group of Jewish prisoners isolated from the camp and forced to assist the Nazis in the machinery of large-scale extermination. While working in one of the crematoriums, Saul discovers the body of a boy he takes for his son. As the Sonderkommando plans a rebellion, Saul decides to carry out an...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN SON

Boyne, John

Summary: Bored and lonely after his family moves from Berlin to a place called "Out-With" in 1942, Bruno, the son of a Nazi officer, befriends a boy in striped pajamas who lives behind a wire fence.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House/Listening Library 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC BOY

Boyne, John

Summary: Bored and lonely after his family moves from Berlin to a place called "Out-With" in 1942, Bruno, the son of a Nazi officer, befriends a boy in striped pajamas who lives behind a wire fence.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC BOY

Amis, Martin

Summary: A fictionalized look at the Holocaust told from the human perspective of four different characters: Paul Doll, commandant of a concentration camp; his wife, Hannah Doll, who is far more aware of what is going on around her than her husband realizes; Angelus 'Golo' Thomsen, the privileged nephew of Hitler's personal secretary who falls for Hannah; and Szmul, a Jewish prisoner who works at the...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC AMI

Buergenthal, Thomas.

Summary: Thomas Buergenthal, now a Judge in the International Court of Justice in The Hague, tells his astonishing experiences as a young boy in his memoir. Arriving at Auschwitz at age 10 after surviving two ghettos and a labor camp, he became separated first from his mother and then his father but managed by his wits and some remarkable strokes of luck to survive on his own. Almost two years after his...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown 2009

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Brings to life Primo Levi's great testament to his year in Auschwitz.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Kultur International Films 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC PRI

Posner, Gerald L.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: McGraw-Hill 1986

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5405 POS

Sonnino, Piera

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Palgrave Macmillan 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5318 SON

Steinbacher, Sybille

Summary: At the terrible heart of the modern age lies Auschwitz. In a total inversion of earlier hopes about the use of science and technology to improve, extend, and protect human life, Auschwitz manipulated the same systems to quite different ends. In Sybille Steinbacher's terse, powerful new book, the reader is led through the process by which something unthinkable to anyone on earth in the 1930s had...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5318 STE

Iturbe, Antonio

Summary: "Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious volumes the prisoners have managed to sneak past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC ITU

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CDA Fiction Itu

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Young Adult Audiobooks, Call number: YA CD FIC ITU

Olere, David

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: WestWind Press 1998

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5417 OLE

Summary: An examination of how Auschwitz evoluted from a Nazi labor camp to the site of the single largest mass murder in the history of humanity.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: BBC Video Ltd. 2005

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Greenfield, Martin

Summary: "He's been called 'America's greatest living tailor' and 'the most interesting man in the world.' Now, for the first time, Holocaust survivor Martin Greenfield tells his incredible life story. Taken from his Czechoslovakian home at age fifteen and transported to the Nazi concentration camp at Auschwitz with his family, Greenfield came face to face with 'Angel of Death' Dr. Joseph Mengele and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Regnery Publishing, a Salem Communications Company 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 GREENFIELD, MARTIN GRE

Levi, Primo.

Summary: "While awaiting return home in a Russian-administered holding camp in Katowice, Poland, in 1945, Primo Levi, along with his friend, the doctor Leonardo De Benedetti, was asked to provide a report on living conditions in Auschwitz for the Russian authorities. Published the following year, it was then forgotten and has until now remained unknown to a wider public. Here, it is published for the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Verso 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5318 LEV

Matalon Lagnado, Lucette.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Morrow 1991

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5405 LAG

Moorehead, Caroline.

Summary: Caroline Moorehead draws on interviews with these women and their families. German, French, and Polish archives, and World War II resistance organization documents to uncover a dark chapter of history that offers an inspiring portrait of ordinary people, of bravery and survival, and of the remarkable, enduring power of female friendship.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Blackstone Audio 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 940.53 MOO

Schlesak, Dieter

Summary: "A harrowing novel about surviving in Auschwitz and the nature of evil"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SCH

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SCH

Summary: Ten years after the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps, this piece documents the abandoned grounds of Auschwitz and Majdanek. One of the first cinematic reflections on the horrors of the Holocaust and contrasts the stillness of the abandoned camps' quiet, empty buildings with haunting wartime footage.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Criterion Collection 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN NIG

Dwork, Deborah.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Norton 1996

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5318 DWO

Back to Top