Register for Summer Reading Club
Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Walls, Jeannette.

Summary: Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2010

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 362.82 WAL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 921 WALLS, JEANNETTE WAL

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD B WALLS

Melton, Glennon Doyle

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: A New York Times essayist shares her journey from a self-destructive college student to a devoted family woman and teacher while illuminating the importance of trusting in a higher power and being truthful about life's challenges.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2013

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Balzer, Joseph Wesley.

Summary: Joe Balzer's alcoholism caught up with him in 1990 when he was arrested with two other pilots for flying a commercial airliner while under the influence of alcohol. Joe lost his promising career and his dignity. This memoir chronicles his journey to a federal courtroom, his time in a federal penitentiary system, and his struggle to recapture all that he held dear.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Springwater 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 362.292 BAL

Cohen, Kerry

Summary: When Loose Girl author Kerry Cohen reached her early 40s, she realized she had a drinking problem. Yes, she could get up on time, bring her kids to school, make dinner, chat with friends, and all around have a normal day, but, throughout it all, Kerry was waiting for her five o'clock glass of wine. Maybe two glasses. Maybe a bottle. Just enough to blur the edges of her life that had become a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Macher, Tom

Summary: "From a searing new literary voice, a raw, compulsively readable memoir about a young man seeking hope, community, and ultimately recovery from addiction in a series of halfway houses and boys' homes--the first book to so vividly capture this world. In his late teens Tom Macher rebelled against a world that seemed stacked against him. Raised in a broken family and estranged from an absentee...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 MACHER, TOM MAC

Robertson, Nan.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Morrow 1988

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.292 ROB

Karr, Mary.

1 hold on 3 copies

Summary: The author reveals how, shortly after giving birth to a child she adored, she drank herself into the same numbness that nearly devoured her charismatic but troubled mother, reaching the brink of suicide before a spiritual awakening led her to sobriety.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 2009

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: 811.54 KAR

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 KARR, MARY KAR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 Kar

Hepola, Sarah

Summary: A memoir of unblinking honesty and poignant, laugh-out-loud humor, BLACKOUT is the story of a woman stumbling into a new kind of adventure--the sober life she never wanted. Shining a light into her blackouts, she discovers the person she buried, as well as the confidence, intimacy, and creativity she once believed came only from a bottle. Her tale will resonate with anyone who has been forced...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HEPOLA, SARAH HEP

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 Hepola 2015

Barnett, Erica C.

Summary: "With remarkably brave and vulnerable writing, Barnett expands on her personal story to confront the dire state of addiction in America, the rise of alcoholism in American women in the last century, and the lack of rehabilitation options available to addicts. At a time when opioid addiction is a national epidemic and one in twelve Americans suffers from alcohol abuse disorder, Quitter is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Walls, Jeannette.

Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2006

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 WAL

Copies Available at Woodmere

5 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WALLS, JEANETTE WAL

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 Walls 2005

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B WALLS WAL

Bingham, Emily.

Summary: "Raised like a princess in one of the most powerful families in the American South, Henrietta was offered the helm of a publishing empire. Instead, she ripped through the Jazz Age like an F. Scott Fitzgerald character: intoxicating and intoxicated, selfish and shameful, seductive and brilliant, and often terribly troubled. In New York, Louisville, and London she drove men and women wild with...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BINGHAM, HENRIETTA WORTH BIN

Lewis, Richard

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PublicAffairs 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 792.7 LEW

St. John, Linda

Summary: A memoir by a celebrated "outsider" artist details how her dirt-poor childhood, her strange family, and her father's illness shaped her into the person she is today.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 ST. JOHN, LINDA STJ

Zailckas, Koren.

Summary: From earliest experimentation to habitual excess to full-blown abuse, twenty-four-year-old Koren Zailckas leads us through her experience of a terrifying trend among young girls, exploring how binge drinking becomes routine, how it becomes "the usual." With the stylistic freshness of a poet and the dramatic gifts of a novelist, Zailckas describes her first sip at fourteen, alcohol poisoning at...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2005

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 616.861 Zailckas

Zailckas, Koren.

Summary: From earliest experimentation to habitual excess to full-blown abuse, twenty-four-year-old Koren Zailckas leads us through her experience of a terrifying trend among young girls, exploring how binge drinking becomes routine, how it becomes "the usual." Zailckas describes her first sip at fourteen, alcohol poisoning at sixteen, a blacked-out sexual experience at nineteen, total disorientation...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Playaway Digital Audio 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA 616.86 ZAL

Hill, Adam B.

Summary: "A pediatric oncologist and palliative care physician, Dr. Adam B. Hill, suffers stress and disillusionment with the culture of medicine, leading to alcoholism, depression and suicidal thoughts. Then while in recovery from active addiction, he loses a mentor to suicide, revealing the extent of the burnout epidemic in the medical field. By sharing his harrowing story, Dr. Hill shows how this...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Central Recovery Press 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HILL, ADAM B. HIL

Saville, Laurel

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Brilliance Audio

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 364.1523 SAV

Hartigan, Francis.

Summary: "When Bill Wilson, with his friend Dr. Bob Smith, founded Alcoholics Anonymous in 1935, his hope was that AA would become a safe haven for those who suffer from this disease. Thirty years after his death, AA continues to help millions of alcoholics recover from what had been commonly regarded as a hopeless addiction. AA is now approaching its sixty-fifth anniversary and can be found in more...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 W., BILL HAR

McKowen, Laura

Summary: "A memoir of alcohol addiction and recovery, written by a successful career woman who describes the joys and challenges of staying sober in a culture permeated by drinking."--Provided by publisher

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New World Library 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Zailckas, Koren.

Summary: A twenty-four-year-old survivor of alcoholism recounts her journey from teen experimentation to binge drinking, during which she endured depression, rage, sexual exploitation, and troubled relationships before making the decision to heal.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 ZAILCKAS, KOREN ZAI

Brown, James

Summary: "A reinvention of the recovery memoir that examines how he has made peace with the family whose ghosts haunted him so vociferously, about the teeming new addictions growing all around him, and about helping the next generation of addicts overcome their disease, all the while raising three sons and helping them set their course in life"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Counterpoint 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Moss, Barbara Robinette.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.2 MOS

Moss, Barbara Robinette.

Summary: A haunting and triumphant story of a difficult and keenly felt life, Change Me into Zeus's Daughter is a remarkable literary memoir of resilience, redemption, and growing up in the South. Barbara Robinette Moss was the fourth in a family of eight children raised in the red-clay hills of Alabama. Their wild-eyed, alcoholic father was a charismatic and irrationally proud man who, when sober,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.292 MOS

Wholey, Dennis

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin 1984

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.2 Wholey 1984

Back to Top