Register for Summer Reading Club
Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Summary: Traces the history of black America back to ancient African civilization, examining attempts by the white establishment in the U.S. to conceal this knowledge as a means of undermining African American identity. Presents theories of scholars and social commentators which comprise a history in which African Americans have been systematically oppressed as a people.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Summary: This installment of Hidden Colors tackles the taboo subject of systematic racism. The film explores how institutional racism effects all areas of human activity and the rules, laws and public policies that are utilized to maintain this system.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Summary: Explores the motivation behind European global subjugation, the history of rarely discussed vast West African empires, how germ warfare is used on melanted people, and the history of slave breeding farms in America.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Summary: Continues the history of people of African descent, including topics such as the global African presence, the science of melanin, the truth about the prison industrial complex, how thriving black economic communities were undermined in America, hidden truths about Native Americans, and more.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Summary: "An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature. Remember that moment when you first encountered a character who seemed to be written just for you? That feeling of belonging remains with readers the rest of their lives--but not everyone regularly sees...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Williams, Thomas Chatterton

Summary: "A meditation on race and identity from one of our most provocative cultural critics. A reckoning with the way we choose to see and define ourselves, Self-Portrait in Black and White is the searching story of one American family's multigenerational transformation from what is called black to what is assumed to be white. Thomas Chatterton Williams, the son of a 'black' father from the segregated...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILLIAMS, THOMAS CHATTERTON WIL

Tatum, Beverly Daniel

5 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "The classic, bestselling book on the psychology of racism-now fully revised and updated Walk into any racially mixed high school and you will see Black, White, and Latino youth clustered in their own groups. Is this self-segregation a problem to address or a coping strategy? Beverly Daniel Tatum, a renowned authority on the psychology of racism, argues that straight talk about our racial...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Byrd, Ayana D

Summary: A chronicle of black hair in America looks back at the styles, myths, and grooming techniques adopted by African Americans throughout their history.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St Martins Pr 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.4 BYR

Jefferson, Margo

Summary: "At once incendiary and icy, mischievous, and provocative, celebratory and elegiac, a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, and American culture through the prism of the author's rarefied upbringing and education among a black elite concerned to distance itself from whites and the black generality, while tirelessly measuring itself against both. Born in 1947 in upper-crust black Chicago--her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 JEFFERSON, MARGO JEF

Davidson, James West.

Contents: Into a changing world -- A moral education -- Unladylike lady -- Edged tools -- Ambition to edit -- They say -- Do something -- Exiled.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WELLS, IDA DAV

Colby, Tanner.

Summary: Chronicles the United States' troubling relationship with race as reflected by four historical events, including the integration of a racist Birmingham school system and a Kansas City neighborhood's fight against housing discrimination.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.896 COL

Thompson, Clifford

Summary: "An African-American writer's concise, heartfelt take on the state of his nation, exploring the war between the values he has always held and the reality with which he is confronted in twenty-first-century America. In the tradition of James Baldwin's TheFire Next Time and Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me comes Clifford Thompson's What It Is. Thompson was raised to believe in treating...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Other Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Valentine, Sarah

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "The stunning and provocative coming-of-age memoir about Sarah Valentine's childhood as a white girl in the suburbs of Pittsburgh, and her discovery that her father was a black man. At the age of 27, Sarah Valentine discovered that she was not, in fact, the white girl she had always believed herself to be. She learned the truth of her paternity: that her father was a black man. And she learned...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 VALENTINE, SARAH VAL

Holloway, Jonathan Scott.

Summary: "How do we balance the desire for tales of exceptional accomplishment with the need for painful doses of reality? How hard do we work to remember our past or to forget it? These are some of the questions that Jonathan Scott Holloway addresses in this exploration of race memory from the dawn of the modern civil rights era to the present. Relying on social science, documentary film, dance,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The University of North Carolina Press 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.896 HOL

Wilderson, Frank B.

Summary: "In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism and Frantz Fanon's Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is an unparalleled account of the non-analogous experience of being Black. A seminal work that strikingly combines groundbreaking philosophy with searing flights of memoir, Afropessimism presents the tenets of an increasingly influential intellectual movement that theorizes blackness through...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILDERSON, FRANK WIL

Contents: The history of African warfare -- The consumption of blackness -- Psychological attacks on Blackness -- Biological attacks on Blackness -- Sexual attacks on Blackness -- How entertainment is weaponized -- Black resistance against white supremacy.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Smith, Tracy K.

Summary: "A memoir about the author's coming of age as she grapples with her identity as an artist, her family's racial history, and her mother's death from cancer"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 SMITH, TRACY K SMI

Wilmore, Larry.

Summary: A correspondent for "The Daily Show" shares humorous and provocative views on race in America, in writings that explore such topics as Black History Month, Black Jesus, and "racist hurricanes."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hyperion 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.8009 WIL

Woodtor, Dee.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Reference, Call number: R 929.1089 WOO

Summary: In this documentary, Che Smith (a.k.a. Rhymefest, the Grammy-winning rapper) reunites with his father, an alcoholic living on the streets of Chicago, and struggles to deliver him to safety and an existence that is productive and meaningful, in essence, taking responsibility for the man who had abandoned him as a young child.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC IN

Thompson-Spires, Nafissa

Summary: "Calling to mind the best works of Paul Beatty and Junot Diaz, this collection of moving, timely, and darkly funny stories examines the concept of black identity in this so-called post-racial era. A stunning new talent in literary fiction, Nafissa Thompson-Spires grapples with black identity and the contemporary middle class in these compelling, boundary-pushing vignettes. Each captivating...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 37 INK, Atria 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Passmore, Ben

Summary: Your Black Friend and Other Strangers is a collection of culturally charged comics by cartoonist Ben Passmore. Passmore masterfully tackles comics about race, gentrification, the prison system, online dating, gross punks, bad street art, kung fu movie references, beating up God, and lots of other grown-up stuff with refreshing doses of humor and lived relatability.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Silver Sprocket 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 PAS

2 holds on 2 copies

Summary: "National Book Award-winner Jesmyn Ward takes James Baldwin's 1963 examination of race in America, The Fire Next Time, as a jumping off point for this groundbreaking collection of essays and poems about race from the most important voices of her generation and our time. In light of recent tragedies and widespread protests across the nation, The Progressive magazine republished one of its most...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Thomas, Angie

Summary: Starr a 16 ans, elle est noire et vit dans un quartier difficile, rythmé par les guerres de gangs, la drogue et les descentes de police. Tous les jours, elle rejoint son lycée blanc situé dans une banlieue chic; tous les jours, elle fait le grand écart entre ses deux vies, ses deux mondes. Mais tout vole en éclats le soir où son ami d'enfance Khalil est tué. Sous ses yeux, de trois balles dans...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nathan 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Foreign Language, Call number: YA WORLD FRENCH THO

Back to Top