Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Summary: Traces the history of black America back to ancient African civilization, examining attempts by the white establishment in the U.S. to conceal this knowledge as a means of undermining African American identity. Presents theories of scholars and social commentators which comprise a history in which African Americans have been systematically oppressed as a people.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Imani, Blair

Summary: "A powerful illustrated history of the Great Migration and its sweeping impact on Black and American culture, from Reconstruction to the rise of hip hop. Over the course of six decades, an unprecedented wave of Black Americans left the South and spread across the nation in search of a better life--a migration that sparked stunning demographic and cultural changes in twentieth-century America....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ten Speed Press 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: This installment of Hidden Colors tackles the taboo subject of systematic racism. The film explores how institutional racism effects all areas of human activity and the rules, laws and public policies that are utilized to maintain this system.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Summary: Explores the motivation behind European global subjugation, the history of rarely discussed vast West African empires, how germ warfare is used on melanted people, and the history of slave breeding farms in America.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Summary: Continues the history of people of African descent, including topics such as the global African presence, the science of melanin, the truth about the prison industrial complex, how thriving black economic communities were undermined in America, hidden truths about Native Americans, and more.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature. Remember that moment when you first encountered a character who seemed to be written just for you? That feeling of belonging remains with readers the rest of their lives--but not everyone regularly sees...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Walker, Jerald

Summary: "Personal essays exploring identity, family, and community through the prism of race and black culture. Confronts the medical profession's racial biases, shopping while black at Whole Foods, the legacy of Michael Jackson, raising black boys, haircuts that scare white people, racial profiling, and growing up in Southside Chicago"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mad Creek Books, an imprint of The Ohio State University Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.896 WAL

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Employing a mix of documentary, performance, poetry, and music in his work, the transformative filmmaker Marlon Riggs was an unapologetic gay Black man who defied a culture of silence and shame to speak his truth with resounding joy and conviction.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Williams, Thomas Chatterton

Summary: "A meditation on race and identity from one of our most provocative cultural critics. A reckoning with the way we choose to see and define ourselves, Self-Portrait in Black and White is the searching story of one American family's multigenerational transformation from what is called black to what is assumed to be white. Thomas Chatterton Williams, the son of a 'black' father from the segregated...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILLIAMS, THOMAS CHATTERTON WIL

Byrd, Ayana D

Summary: A chronicle of black hair in America looks back at the styles, myths, and grooming techniques adopted by African Americans throughout their history.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St Martins Pr 2014

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Tatum, Beverly Daniel

Summary: "The classic, bestselling book on the psychology of racism-now fully revised and updated Walk into any racially mixed high school and you will see Black, White, and Latino youth clustered in their own groups. Is this self-segregation a problem to address or a coping strategy? Beverly Daniel Tatum, a renowned authority on the psychology of racism, argues that straight talk about our racial...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.8 TAT

Abdurraqib, Hanif

Summary: "A Little Devil in America is an urgent project that unravels all modes and methods of black performance, in this moment when black performers are coming to terms with their value, reception, and immense impact on America. With sharp insight, humor, and heart, Abdurraqib examines how black performance happens in specific moments in time and space--midcentury Paris, the moon, or a cramped living...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Davidson, James West.

Contents: Into a changing world -- A moral education -- Unladylike lady -- Edged tools -- Ambition to edit -- They say -- Do something -- Exiled.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WELLS, IDA DAV

Jefferson, Margo

Summary: "At once incendiary and icy, mischievous, and provocative, celebratory and elegiac, a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, and American culture through the prism of the author's rarefied upbringing and education among a black elite concerned to distance itself from whites and the black generality, while tirelessly measuring itself against both. Born in 1947 in upper-crust black Chicago--her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 JEFFERSON, MARGO JEF

Colby, Tanner.

Summary: Chronicles the United States' troubling relationship with race as reflected by four historical events, including the integration of a racist Birmingham school system and a Kansas City neighborhood's fight against housing discrimination.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.896 COL

Valentine, Sarah

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "The stunning and provocative coming-of-age memoir about Sarah Valentine's childhood as a white girl in the suburbs of Pittsburgh, and her discovery that her father was a black man. At the age of 27, Sarah Valentine discovered that she was not, in fact, the white girl she had always believed herself to be. She learned the truth of her paternity: that her father was a black man. And she learned...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2019

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 VAL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 VALENTINE, SARAH VAL

Holloway, Jonathan Scott.

Summary: "How do we balance the desire for tales of exceptional accomplishment with the need for painful doses of reality? How hard do we work to remember our past or to forget it? These are some of the questions that Jonathan Scott Holloway addresses in this exploration of race memory from the dawn of the modern civil rights era to the present. Relying on social science, documentary film, dance,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The University of North Carolina Press 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.896 HOL

Wilderson, Frank B.

Summary: "In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism and Frantz Fanon's Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is an unparalleled account of the non-analogous experience of being Black. A seminal work that strikingly combines groundbreaking philosophy with searing flights of memoir, Afropessimism presents the tenets of an increasingly influential intellectual movement that theorizes blackness through...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILDERSON, FRANK WIL

Contents: The history of African warfare -- The consumption of blackness -- Psychological attacks on Blackness -- Biological attacks on Blackness -- Sexual attacks on Blackness -- How entertainment is weaponized -- Black resistance against white supremacy.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC HID

Thompson, Clifford

Summary: "An African-American writer's concise, heartfelt take on the state of his nation, exploring the war between the values he has always held and the reality with which he is confronted in twenty-first-century America. In the tradition of James Baldwin's TheFire Next Time and Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me comes Clifford Thompson's What It Is. Thompson was raised to believe in treating...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Other Press 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 814 THO

Blay, Yaba

Summary: "Explores the extent to which historical definitions of race continue to shape contemporary racial identities and lived experiences of racial difference"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Beacon Press 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Smith, Tracy K.

Summary: "A memoir about the author's coming of age as she grapples with her identity as an artist, her family's racial history, and her mother's death from cancer"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 SMITH, TRACY K SMI

Carroll, Rebecca

Summary: "A stirring and powerful memoir from black cultural critic Rebecca Carroll recounting her struggle to overcome a completely white childhood in order to forge her identity as a black woman in America"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 CARROLL, REBECCA CAR
1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 921 CARROLL, REBECCA CAR

Wilmore, Larry.

Summary: A correspondent for "The Daily Show" shares humorous and provocative views on race in America, in writings that explore such topics as Black History Month, Black Jesus, and "racist hurricanes."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hyperion 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.8009 WIL

Back to Top