Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Woodfox, Albert

7 holds on 5 copies

Summary: Nearly forty years in solitary confinement in a 6-foot by 9-foot cell for 23 hours a day for a crime he did not commit, Albert Woodfox survived and emerged with his humanity and sense of hope for the future intact.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: This story begins on the steps on the Lincoln Memorial in August 1963 when a 34-year-old preacher galvanized millions with his dream for an America free of racism. It comes to a bloody end almost five years later on a motel balcony in Memphis, Tennessee. In the years since those events unfolded, the man at the center, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., has become a mythic figure, a minister whose...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS Home Video 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV CIT

McCrary, Crystal.

Summary: Shares the personal success stories of thirty black women in entertainment, business, politics, and the sciences, including Iman, Venus Williams, Whoopi Goldberg, and Michelle Obama.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Stewart, Tabori & Chang 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Oversize, Call number: OVS 920.72 MCC

Jones, Martha S.

Summary: This volume explores the roles black women played in their communities' social movements and the consequences of elevating women into positions of visibility and leadership. Martha Jones reveals how, throughout the 19th century, the "woman question" was at the core of movements against slavery and for civil rights.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of North Carolina Press 2007

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 324.6 Jon

Kengor, Paul

Summary: A portrait of Frank Marshall Davis, an American communist and mentor to President Obama, discusses his beliefs, pro-communist writings for newspapers in Chicago and Honolulu, and influence on the young future president.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Threshold Editions/Mercury Ink 2012

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult- Biography, Call number: 921 Kengor 2012

Khan-Cullors, Patrisse

Summary: "This is the story of how the movement that started with a hashtag--#BlackLivesMatter--spread across the nation and then across the world and the journey that led one of its co-founders, Patrisse Khan-Cullors, to this moment. Patrisse Khan-Cullors grew upin an over-policed United States where incarceration of Black people runs rampant. Surrounded by police brutality, she gathered the tools and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wednesday Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA 921 KHA

Biddle, Daniel R.

Summary: Octavius Valentine Catto was an orator who shared stages with Frederick Douglass, a second baseman on Philadelphia's best black baseball team, a teacher at the city's finest black school and an activist who fought in the state capital and on the streets for equal rights. With his racially-charged murder, the nation lost a civil rights pioneer-one who risked his life a century before Selma and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Temple University Press 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 CATTO, OCTAVIUS BID

O'Malley, Padraig.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 968.0609 OMA

Capaldi, Gina.

Summary: Zitkala-Š̌̌̌a finds that she can sing through her music, but also by writing stories and giving speeches and being an activist for Native American rights.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Carolrhoda Books 2011

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 921 Zitkala 2011

Wilderson, Frank B.

Summary: "In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism and Frantz Fanon's Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is an unparalleled account of the non-analogous experience of being Black. A seminal work that strikingly combines groundbreaking philosophy with searing flights of memoir, Afropessimism presents the tenets of an increasingly influential intellectual movement that theorizes blackness through...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILDERSON, FRANK WIL

Mitchell, Brian K.

Summary: "Depicted as a graphic history and informed by newly discovered primary sources and years of archival research, Monumental resurrects, in vivid detail, Louisiana and New Orleans after the Civil War, and an iconic American life that never should have been forgotten. The graphic history is supplemented with personal and historiographical essays as well as a map, timeline, and endnotes that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Historic New Orleans Collection 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 MIT

Contents: pt. 1. Fighting for my rights: one SNCC woman's experience, 1961-1964 -- pt. 2. Entering troubled waters: sit-ins, the founding of SNCC, and the freedom rides, 1960-1963 -- pt. 3. Movement leaning posts: the heart and soul of the southwest Georgia movement, 1961-1963 -- pt. 4. Standing tall: the southwest Georgia movement, 1962-1963 -- pt. 5. Get on board: the Mississippi movement through the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of Illinois Press 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.43 HOL

Ribke, Simone T.

Summary: A biography on Ruby Bridges and how she stood up against racism and hatred to help integrate Louisiana's school system.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Children's Press, an imprint of Scholastic, Inc. 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 BRI

Wallace, Sandra Neil

Summary: "In October 1919, a group of black sharecroppers met at a church in an Arkansas village to organize a union. Bullets rained down on the meeting from outside. Many were killed by a white mob, and others were rounded up and arrested. Twelve of the sharecroppers were hastily tried and sentenced to death. Up stepped Scipio Africanus Jones, a self-taught lawyer who'd been born enslaved. Could he...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Calkins Creek, an imprint of Boyds Mills & Kane 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 976.7 WAL

Schron, Bob

Summary: "A decade-by-decade account of African-American athlete activism told through the stories of prominent athletes who fought for racial or gender equality, often at the expense of their reputation or their ability to practice their sport. From Jesse Owens's performance in the 1936 Olympics to Colin Kaepernick's controversial kneel during the national anthem, this book show that the actions of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Imagine 2020

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 796.08996 SCH

Forché, Carolyn

Summary: Describes the author's deep friendship with a mysterious intellectual who introduced her to the culture and people of El Salvador in the 1970s, a tumultuous period in the country's history, inspiring her work as an unlikely activist.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Bridges, Ruby

2 holds on 3 copies

Summary: Civil rights activist Ruby Bridges--who, at the age of six, was the first African American to integrate an all-white elementary school in New Orleans--shares her story through text and historical photographs, offering a powerful call to action.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2020

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JB BRIDGES BRI

Brazile, Donna

Summary: "The lives of black women in American politics are remarkably absent from the shelves of bookstores and libraries. For Colored Girls Who Have Consider Politics is a sweeping view of American history from the vantage points of four women who have lived and worked behind the scenes in politics for over thirty years--Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, and Minyon Moore--a group of women...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 328.73 BRA

Stewart, Jeffrey C.

Summary: "A tiny, fastidiously dressed man emerged from Black Philadelphia around the turn of the century to mentor a generation of young artists including Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, and Jacob Lawrence and call them the New Negro--the creative African Americans whose art, literature, music, and drama would inspire Black people to greatness. In The New Negro : The Life of Alain Locke, Jeffrey...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 LOCKE, ALAIN STE

Brown, Austin Channing

Summary: The author's first encounter with a racialized America came at age seven, when her parents told her they named her Austin to deceive future employers into thinking she was a white man. She grew up in majority-white schools, organizations, and churches, and has spent her life navigating America's racial divide as a writer, a speaker, and an expert helping organizations practice genuine...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Convergent Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BROWN, AUSTIN CHANNING BRO

Khan-Cullors, Patrisse

Summary: A memoir by the co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement explains the movement's position of love, humanity, and justice, challenging perspectives that have negatively labeled the movement's activists while calling for essential political changes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Book Club Kit, Call number: BOOK CLUB KIT 921 KHAN-CULLORS, PATRISSE KHA

Khan-Cullors, Patrisse

Summary: A memoir by the co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement explains the movement's position of love, humanity, and justice, challenging perspectives that have negatively labeled the movement's activists while calling for essential political changes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 KHAN-CULLORS, PATRISSE KHA

Copies Available at Kingsley

2 available in Adult, Call number: 921 Kh

Thomas, Etan

Summary: "This volume will be an inspiration for many different people: sports junkies; young readers who need words of encouragement from their favorite athletes; parents seeking positive messages for their children; activists who want to hear athletes using their voices to address social justice; and schools that need motivational material for their students. Featuring interviews by former NBA player...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Akashic Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 796 THO

Hoena, B. A.

Summary: "This graphic biography traces Colin Kaepernick's road from young sports standout to athlete and activist. As Kaepernick protested violence against African Americans, he lost his career in football but gained a voice heard worldwide" --

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Graphic Universe 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 921 KAP

Back to Top