Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Khan-Cullors, Patrisse

Summary: "This is the story of how the movement that started with a hashtag--#BlackLivesMatter--spread across the nation and then across the world and the journey that led one of its co-founders, Patrisse Khan-Cullors, to this moment. Patrisse Khan-Cullors grew upin an over-policed United States where incarceration of Black people runs rampant. Surrounded by police brutality, she gathered the tools and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wednesday Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA 921 KHA

Kengor, Paul

Summary: A portrait of Frank Marshall Davis, an American communist and mentor to President Obama, discusses his beliefs, pro-communist writings for newspapers in Chicago and Honolulu, and influence on the young future president.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Threshold Editions/Mercury Ink 2012

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult- Biography, Call number: 921 Kengor 2012

Summary: This story begins on the steps on the Lincoln Memorial in August 1963 when a 34-year-old preacher galvanized millions with his dream for an America free of racism. It comes to a bloody end almost five years later on a motel balcony in Memphis, Tennessee. In the years since those events unfolded, the man at the center, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., has become a mythic figure, a minister whose...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS Home Video 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV CIT

McCrary, Crystal.

Summary: Shares the personal success stories of thirty black women in entertainment, business, politics, and the sciences, including Iman, Venus Williams, Whoopi Goldberg, and Michelle Obama.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Stewart, Tabori & Chang 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Oversize, Call number: OVS 920.72 MCC

Contents: pt. 1. Fighting for my rights: one SNCC woman's experience, 1961-1964 -- pt. 2. Entering troubled waters: sit-ins, the founding of SNCC, and the freedom rides, 1960-1963 -- pt. 3. Movement leaning posts: the heart and soul of the southwest Georgia movement, 1961-1963 -- pt. 4. Standing tall: the southwest Georgia movement, 1962-1963 -- pt. 5. Get on board: the Mississippi movement through the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of Illinois Press 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.43 HOL

Woodfox, Albert

19 holds on 5 copies

Summary: Nearly forty years in solitary confinement in a 6-foot by 9-foot cell for 23 hours a day for a crime he did not commit, Albert Woodfox survived and emerged with his humanity and sense of hope for the future intact.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2019

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B WOODFOX WOO

Brown, Austin Channing

2 holds on 4 copies

Summary: The author's first encounter with a racialized America came at age seven, when her parents told her they named her Austin to deceive future employers into thinking she was a white man. She grew up in majority-white schools, organizations, and churches, and has spent her life navigating America's racial divide as a writer, a speaker, and an expert helping organizations practice genuine...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Convergent Books 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Khan-Cullors, Patrisse

Summary: A memoir by the co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement explains the movement's position of love, humanity, and justice, challenging perspectives that have negatively labeled the movement's activists while calling for essential political changes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Book Club Kit, Call number: BOOK CLUB KIT 921 KHAN-CULLORS, PATRISSE KHA

Khan-Cullors, Patrisse

Summary: A memoir by the co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement explains the movement's position of love, humanity, and justice, challenging perspectives that have negatively labeled the movement's activists while calling for essential political changes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 KHAN-CULLORS, PATRISSE KHA

Copies Available at Kingsley

2 available in Adult, Call number: 921 Kh

Biddle, Daniel R.

Summary: Octavius Valentine Catto was an orator who shared stages with Frederick Douglass, a second baseman on Philadelphia's best black baseball team, a teacher at the city's finest black school and an activist who fought in the state capital and on the streets for equal rights. With his racially-charged murder, the nation lost a civil rights pioneer-one who risked his life a century before Selma and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Temple University Press 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 CATTO, OCTAVIUS BID

Jones, Martha S.

Summary: This volume explores the roles black women played in their communities' social movements and the consequences of elevating women into positions of visibility and leadership. Martha Jones reveals how, throughout the 19th century, the "woman question" was at the core of movements against slavery and for civil rights.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of North Carolina Press 2007

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 324.6 Jon

O'Malley, Padraig.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 968.0609 OMA

Capaldi, Gina.

Summary: Zitkala-Š̌̌̌a finds that she can sing through her music, but also by writing stories and giving speeches and being an activist for Native American rights.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Carolrhoda Books 2011

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 921 Zitkala 2011

Wilderson, Frank B.

Summary: "In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism and Frantz Fanon's Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is an unparalleled account of the non-analogous experience of being Black. A seminal work that strikingly combines groundbreaking philosophy with searing flights of memoir, Afropessimism presents the tenets of an increasingly influential intellectual movement that theorizes blackness through...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILDERSON, FRANK WIL

Back to Top