Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Bell-Scott, Patricia.

Summary: Describes the unlikely friendship between First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and Pauli Murray, a granddaughter of a mixed race slave and a lesbian, who became a lawyer and civil rights pioneer, and the important work they each did for justice and freedom.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 973.917 BEL

Duane, Anna Mae

Summary: "Educated for Freedom" explores the story of two fugitive schoolboys who grew up to change a nation"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New York University Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 DUA

Bell-Scott, Patricia.

Summary: "Describes the unlikely friendship between First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and Pauli Murray, a granddaughter of a mixed race slave and a lesbian, who became a lawyer and civil rights pioneer, and the important work they each did, taking stands for justice and freedom,"--NoveList.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.917 BEL

Stewart, Jeffrey C.

Summary: "A tiny, fastidiously dressed man emerged from Black Philadelphia around the turn of the century to mentor a generation of young artists including Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, and Jacob Lawrence and call them the New Negro--the creative African Americans whose art, literature, music, and drama would inspire Black people to greatness. In The New Negro : The Life of Alain Locke, Jeffrey...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 LOCKE, ALAIN STE

Rosenberg, Rosalind

Summary: "Throughout her prodigious life, activist and lawyer Pauli Murray systematically fought against all arbitrary distinctions in society, channeling her outrage at the discrimination she faced to make America a more democratic country. In this definitive biography, Rosalind Rosenberg offers a poignant portrait of a figure who played pivotal roles in both the modern civil rights and women's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 MURRAY, PAULI ROS

Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt)

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 DU BOIS, W.E.B. DUB

Wilderson, Frank B.

Summary: "In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism and Frantz Fanon's Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is an unparalleled account of the non-analogous experience of being Black. A seminal work that strikingly combines groundbreaking philosophy with searing flights of memoir, Afropessimism presents the tenets of an increasingly influential intellectual movement that theorizes blackness through...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILDERSON, FRANK WIL

Jones, Amy Robin

Summary: A biography of the African-American educator Mary McLeod Bethune, discussing her role in creating opportunities for African-Americans in education and government.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Child's World 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 BET

Hill, Laban Carrick

Summary: Explores the literary, artistic, and intellectual creativity of the Harlem Renaissance and discusses the lives and work of Louis Armstrong, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, and other notable figures of the era.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company Books for Young Readers 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 810.9 HIL

McCullough, David G

Summary: Relates the story of the American artists, writers, and doctors who traveled to Paris in the nineteenth century, fell in love with the city and its people, and changed America through what they learned there.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 920.0092 MCC

Shetterly, Margot Lee

1 hold on 6 copies

Summary: Explores the previously uncelebrated but pivotal contributions of NASA's African American women mathematicians to America's space program, describing how Jim Crow laws segregated them despite their groundbreaking successes. Includes biographies on Dorothy Jackson Vaughan (1910-2008), Mary Winston Jackson (1921-2005), Katherine Colman Goble Johnson (1918- ), Dr. Christine Mann Darden (1942- ).

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 920 SHE

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 920 SHE

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 920 SHE

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 920 Shetterly 2018

Weatherford, Carole Boston

Summary: Traces legal clerk Arturo Schomburg's efforts to curate a collection of African books, letters, music, and art.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 SCH

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 921 Schomburg 2017

Golkar, Golriz

Summary: "Describes the life and accomplishments of American civil rights champion, statesman, and politician John Lewis. Additional features to aid comprehension include a table of contents, informative captions and sidebars, a phonetic glossary, a time line, a Think-About-It section, and an index"--Amazon.com.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Child's World 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 LEW

Dray, Philip.

Summary: Presents a life of the African American journalist who was born a slave and went on to become a respected teacher and journalist, and who is best remembered for her campaign through her writings to eliminate lynching in the United States.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Peachtree 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 WEL

Worth, Richard

Summary: The Harlem Renaissance was like a magnificent fireworks display; it was colorful, brilliant, and in a few moments, it was over. This was the first time African Americans had led a cultural movement and the first time that white Americans had paid attention to their achievements. Through striking images and fascinating details, this book examines the origins of the Harlem Renaissance, especially...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Rosen Publishing Group 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 974.7 WOR

Amoroso, Cynthia

Summary: A biography of Coretta Scott King, an American civil rights activist, and the wife of civil rights leader, Martin Luther King, Jr.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Child's World 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 KIN

Farrell, Mary Cronk

Summary: Shares the story of the African American women who enlisted in the newly formed Women's Army Auxiliary Corps in World War II, centering the story around Charity Adams, the woman who commanded the only black WAAC battalion sent overseas.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Abrams Books for Young Readers 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 940.54 FAR

Carter, Stephen L.

Summary: "She was black and a woman and a prosecutor, a graduate of Smith College and the granddaughter of slaves, as dazzlingly unlikely a combination as one could imagine in the New York of the 1930s--and without the strategy she devised, Lucky Luciano, the most powerful Mafia boss in history, would never have been convicted. When special prosecutor Thomas E. Dewey selected twenty lawyers to help him...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Henry Holt and Company 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 CARTER, EUNICE HUNTON CAR

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B CARTER CAR

Shetterly, Margot Lee

Summary: Before John Glenn orbited the Earth or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of professionals worked as "Human Computers," calculating the flight paths that would enable these historic achievements. Among these were a coterie of bright, talented African-American women. Segregated from their white counterparts by Jim Crow laws, these "colored computers," as they were known, used slide...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2016

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 920 LEE

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 920 SHE

Greenidge, Kerri

Summary: "This long-overdue biography reestablishes William Monroe Trotter's essential place next to Douglass, Du Bois, and King in the pantheon of American civil rights heroes. William Monroe Trotter (1872- 1934), though still virtually unknown to the wider public, was an unlikely American hero. With the stylistic verve of a newspaperman and the unwavering fearlessness of an emancipator, he galvanized...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Co. 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 TROTTER, WILLIAM MONROE GRE

Dawson, Keila V.

Summary: "A nonfiction picture book about The Green Book, a travel guide for African Americans during segregation, and the man who wrote it"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: [Beaming Books] 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 305.896 DAW

Back to Top