Great Graphic Novels for Teens

These titles were the top 10 graphic novels in their year selected by YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association)

Next Page

Almost American girl : an illustrated memoir - Ha, Robin,

Summary: "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can...

Notes:

2021

Fights : one boy's triumph over violence - Gill, Joel Christian,

Summary: "Fights is the visceral and deeply affecting memoir of artist/author Joel Christian Gill, chronicling his youth and coming of age as a Black child in a chaotic landscape of rough city streets and...

Notes:

2021

Go with the flow - Williams, Lily,

Summary: Sophomores Abby, Brit, Christine, and Sasha are fed up. Hazelton High never has enough tampons. Or pads. Or adults who will listen. Sick of an administration that puts football before female...

Notes:

2021

Guantanamo voices : true accounts from the worlds most infamous prison

Summary: In January 2002, the United States sent a group of Muslim men they suspected of terrorism to a prison in Guantanamo Bay. They were the first of roughly 780 prisoners who would be held there-and 40...

Notes:

2021

The low, low woods - Machado, Carmen Maria,

Summary: "When your memories are stolen, what would you give to remember? Follow El and Vee as they search for answers to the questions everyone else forgot. Shudder-to-Think, Pennsylvania, is plagued by a...

Contents: Bottomless -- Heaven on earth -- The fruiting body -- Einstein on the beach -- The witch's tale -- Bells to rest, lambs to slaughter.

Notes:

2021

The magic fish - Trung, Le Nguyen,

Summary: "Real life isn't a fairytale. But Tié̂n still enjoys reading his favorite stories with his parents from the books he borrows from the local library. It's hard enough trying to communicate with your...

Notes:

2021

Snapdragon - Leyh, Kat,

Summary: When Snap rescues a family of baby opossums, she asks the town witch, Jacks, for help caring for them, but as Snap starts to get to know Jacks, she realizes that Jacks may have a connection with...

Notes:

2021

Superman smashes the Klan : the graphic novel - Yang, Gene Luen,

Summary: When Dr. Lee moves his family to Metropolis, his son Tommy adjusts to the new neighborhood while daugher Roberta feels out of place, so when the evil Klan of the Fiery Cross begins a string of...

Notes:

2021

Bloom - Panetta, Kevin,

Summary: After graduation, Ari is desperate to move to the big city with his band, but he has to find someone who can replace him at his parent's struggling bakery, so when he meets Hector he thinks his...

Notes:

2020

Cosmoknights. Book one - Templer, Hannah,

Summary: "For this ragtag band of space gays, liberation means beating the patriarchy at its own game. Pan's life used to be very small. Work in her dad's body shop, sneak out with her friend Tara to go...

Notes:

2020

Next Page
Back to Top