Womens History Nonfiction

Next Page

The woman all spies fear : code breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and her hidden life - Greenfield, Amy Butler, 1968-

Summary: "Biography of Elizebeth Smith Friedman, an American woman who pioneered codebreaking in WWI and WWII but was only recently recognized for her extraordinary contributions to the field"--

Thrill seekers : 15 remarkable women in extreme sports - Staats, Ann McCallum, 1965-

Summary: "What is the allure of the extreme? Who are the women who seek out and excel at sports outside the conventional, such as cave diving, wingsuit flying, or Formula 1 racing? This collection of female...

Contents: Maximum sky.Roberta Mancino : fly like a superhero ;Faith Dickey : walk a thin line ;Melanie Curtis : free fall freedom --Extreme ocean.Bethany Hamilton : able and awesome ;Jill Heinerth : into the...

The rebellious life of Mrs. Rosa Parks / Young Readers Edition - Theoharis, Jeanne,

Summary: "This definitive biography of Rosa Parks accessibly examines her six decades of activism, challenging young readers perceptions of her as an accidental actor in the civil rights movement."--

Contents: A (Shy) Rebel Is Born -- Following Rules and Breaking Some Too -- Introducing Raymond Parks: "The First Real Activist I Ever Met" -- The Newest Member of the NAACP -- Organizing in the Face of...

Almost American girl : an illustrated memoir - Ha, Robin,

Summary: "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can...

We are displaced : my journey and stories from refugee girls around the world - Yousafzai, Malala, 1997-

Summary: "Malala Yousafzai introduces some of the people behind the statistics and news stories we read or hear every day about the millions of people displaced worldwide. Malala's experiences visiting...

Contents: Part 1: I am displaced. Life as we knew it ; How could this be happening? ; Internally displaced ; Shangla ; Returning home ; Caught between two worlds -- Part 2: We are displaced. Zaynab: Why me...

Our stories, our voices : 21 YA authors get real about injustice, empowerment, and growing up female in America

Summary: A collection of essays from twenty-one young adult authors explore their experiences of injustice, empowerment, and growing up female in America.

Contents: My immigrant American dream / Sandhya Menon -- Her hair was not of gold / Anna-Marie McLemore -- Finding my feminism / Amy Reed -- Unexpected pursuits: embracing my indigeneity & creativity /...

Dissenter on the bench : Ruth Bader Ginsburg's life and work - Ortiz, Victoria, 1942-

Summary: "The life and career of the fiercely principled Supreme Court Justice, now a popular icon, with dramatic accounts of her landmark cases that moved the needle on legal protection of human rights,...

#NotYourPrincess : voices of Native American women

Summary: "Whether looking back to a troubled past or welcoming a hopeful future, the powerful voices of Indigenous women across North America resound in this book. In the same style as the best-selling...

Honor girl : a graphic memoir - Thrash, Maggie,

Summary: "Maggie Thrash has spent basically every summer of her fifteen-year-old life at the one-hundred-year-old Camp Bellflower for Girls, set deep in the heart of Appalachia. She's from Atlanta, she's...

Dancing at the pity party : a dead mom graphic memoir - Feder, Tyler,

Summary: "Tyler Feder shares her story of her mother's first oncology appointment to facing reality as a motherless daughter in this frank and refreshingly funny graphic memoir"--

Contents: Maw -- Uh-oh -- Compartmentalization -- The worst day -- Making arrangements -- The death circus, part 1 -- The death circus, part 2 -- The new normal -- The good, the bad, and the awkward (but...

Next Page
Back to Top