Womens History Nonfiction

Next Page

Thrill seekers : 15 remarkable women in extreme sports - Staats, Ann McCallum, 1965-

Summary: "What is the allure of the extreme? Who are the women who seek out and excel at sports outside the conventional, such as cave diving, wingsuit flying, or Formula 1 racing? This collection of female...

Contents: Maximum sky.Roberta Mancino : fly like a superhero ;Faith Dickey : walk a thin line ;Melanie Curtis : free fall freedom --Extreme ocean.Bethany Hamilton : able and awesome ;Jill Heinerth : into the...

The rebellious life of Mrs. Rosa Parks / Young Readers Edition - Theoharis, Jeanne,

Summary: "This definitive biography of Rosa Parks accessibly examines her six decades of activism, challenging young readers perceptions of her as an accidental actor in the civil rights movement."--

Contents: A (Shy) Rebel Is Born -- Following Rules and Breaking Some Too -- Introducing Raymond Parks: "The First Real Activist I Ever Met" -- The Newest Member of the NAACP -- Organizing in the Face of...

Almost American girl : an illustrated memoir - Ha, Robin,

Summary: "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can...

We are displaced : my journey and stories from refugee girls around the world - Yousafzai, Malala, 1997-

Summary: Introduces displaced people from around the world to give faces to the statistics and news stories readers see and hear.

Our stories, our voices : 21 YA authors get real about injustice, empowerment, and growing up female in America

Summary: A collection of essays from twenty-one young adult authors explore their experiences of injustice, empowerment, and growing up female in America.

Contents: My immigrant American dream / Sandhya Menon -- Her hair was not of gold / Anna-Marie McLemore -- Finding my feminism / Amy Reed -- Unexpected pursuits: embracing my indigeneity & creativity /...

The Borden murders : Lizzie Borden & the trial of the century - Miller, Sarah Elizabeth, 1979-

Summary: Examines the Borden murders, using newspaper articles to recreate the events and the trial and acquittal of Lizzie Borden and exploring Lizzie's story to theorize on what may have happened.

Contents: Who's who -- Lizzie Borden took an axe -- Murder! -- The Bordens -- Investigation -- Inquest -- Arrest -- Preliminary hearing -- The waiting time -- Trial of the century -- Aftermath -- Epilogue...

Dissenter on the bench : Ruth Bader Ginsburg's life and work - Ortiz, Victoria, 1942-

Summary: "The life and career of the fiercely principled Supreme Court Justice, now a popular icon, with dramatic accounts of her landmark cases that moved the needle on legal protection of human rights,...

Speak a word for freedom : women against slavery - Willen, Janet.

Summary: From the early days of the antislavery movement, when political action by women was frowned upon, British and American women were tireless and uncompromising campaigners. Without their efforts,...

Contents: Elizabeth Freeman: "To stand one minute on God's green earth a free woman" -- Elizabeth Heyrick: "No middle way -- Ellen Craft: "I had much rather starve in England, a free woman" -- Harriet...

#NotYourPrincess : voices of Native American women

Summary: "Whether looking back to a troubled past or welcoming a hopeful future, the powerful voices of Indigenous women across North America resound in this book. In the same style as the best-selling...

Honor girl : a graphic memoir - Thrash, Maggie,

Summary: "Maggie Thrash has spent basically every summer of her fifteen-year-old life at the one-hundred-year-old Camp Bellflower for Girls, set deep in the heart of Appalachia. She's from Atlanta, she's...

Next Page
Back to Top